Skyscraper
Adventurer
If a power has a conditional effect, the condition can be met if they ready the action and then use their action point to meet the requirement.
Can you provide a specific example?
If a power has a conditional effect, the condition can be met if they ready the action and then use their action point to meet the requirement.
Can you provide a specific example?
Does anyone know if the designer's reasoning for not allowing Immediate Actions on a character's turn is discussed in an article somewhere that I could read?
We had a couple issues come up related to the "no immediate action" on your turn rule that just seem strange.
1) All the PC powers / Item powers with immediate reactions triggered by melee attacks that can't be used when the PC is subject to an opportunity attack.
2) Immediate actions that trigger when taking damage and starting in a zone that causes damage.
We had PCs in both situations, and not being able to use an immediate reaction had a significant impact on the way things played out.
Before this rule was pointed out our Ranger would attempt to provoke attacks with his own actions, then interrupt or react to that action, giving him multiple attacks per round. After it was pointed out he would STILL try, but at least we could tell him why he couldn't![]()
Can you give an example of an immediate reaction attack that invalidates the OA?Because it creates some nasty corner cases, that are ripe for abuse. I throw an attack, that provokes an OA. Opponent takes the OA. I use an interrupt, that invalidates the OA. I attack with the interrupt, then attack with the attack that triggered the OA. Opponent has already taken his OA on me, for that turn, so I get two in as freebies. It's cheesy.
Can you give an example of an immediate reaction attack that invalidates the OA?
I'm asking because in the cases it came up - the reaction didn't invalidate the OA - it just meant that the character wasn't dropped below 0 hp.