Adventure: Hey! That's Not Wayne's Basement! (DM: H.M.Gimlord, Judge: Ozymandias79)

Rujah grunts as the floor gives way, looking about himself as he realizes rats are swarming over his person. He snarls in irritate, batting at a few with his hammer, before deciding that it was best he extricate himself from the pit.

[sblock=Actions]
I'm not certain whether or not Rujah can brace himself, according to the map it appears he is in the corner, and can brace himself while climbing. So, Fenwick would add +2, I'd get +5 with bracing while I climb, and Rujah's athletics skill is at 6 to begin with. That's +13 to climb 1 square upwards, yes? Not sure whether Rujah needs to move to K17 before climbing up or not, it looks like K17 is still... mostly there. Either way, Rujah will move toward Fenwick and attempt to get out as his move action.
1d20+13=23

If Rujah gets out, he'll turn and warn the others to get back away from the pit, preparing his breath weapon. (Ready Action to use Dragon Breath as a Close blast 3 once everyone clears back)[/sblock]


[sblock=Statblock]
Rujah Neth Male Dragonborn Warden 1
Initiative: +0, Passive Perception: 10, Passive Insight: 10, Senses: Normal
AC:18, Fort:15, Reflex:12, Will:13
HP:34/34, Bloodied:17, Surge Value:11, Surges left:12/12
Action Points: 1
Powers:
Warden's Fury
Warden's Grasp
Thornstrike
Weight of Earth

Thunder Ram Assault
Dragon Breath

Form of Winter's Herald

Conditions:
Full bio in signature[/sblock]
 

log in or register to remove this ad

[sblock=OOC]Walking Dad's not going to post until Monday, so I won't be posting results until then. [/sblock]

[sblock=Theroc]I guess the rule is that if more than 50% of the square is uncollapsed, then it's passable. I wasn't thinking of that when I drew the map. Your choice. You can end at J18 or K17. Either way, though, moving out of an adjacent square offers the rats an OA, and you can't shift while climbing, nor can you climb and shift in the same turn.


Rat Swarm Actions:
OA: Swarm of Teeth
Target: Rujah
Attack: 1d20+6 = 21 Hit (It's about time)
Damage: 1d6+3 = 4 + 3 OG (save ends)

BTW, I think you can save before the end of this turn.[/sblock]
 

[sblock=OOC]
So, Rujah took 4 damage, and there's 3 ongoing from the wound? How does a save work exactly? Apologies, I'm still new to 4E. As for location, J18 works.[/sblock]
 

[sblock=OOC,Theroc]I think you should have your breath attack. It is better suited for blasting multiple enemies, and it sounds like multiple enemies are on their way, ready to file through a narrow opening.

Let me know if that's still your plan, because my actions vary greatly based on whether you use breath or not. [/sblock]
 

[sblock=Theroc]
So, Rujah took 4 damage, and there's 3 ongoing from the wound?
Yep

How does a save work exactly? Apologies, I'm still new to 4E. As for location, J18 works.
Your turn goes in phases. If you've ever played Magic The Gathering, it's kind of like that. The part of your turn where you apply OG damage is at the beginning of your turn. The part where you roll saves is at the end of your turn. Usually it works like this:


  • Joe gets bitten by a rat on the rat's turn and gets 3 OG damage
  • A bunch of junk happens
  • Joe's turn begins
  • Joe takes 3 damage
  • Joe conducts his move, minor, standard, etc...
  • Joe rolls his save
  • Joe's turn ends

In your case, however, Rujah received the OG damage in the middle of his turn, so it looks like this:


  • Rujah's turn begins
  • Rujah has no OG damage to apply
  • Ruah conducts his move, minor, standard, etc...
  • Rujah gets hit by the rat's OA taking 4 damage (but not the 3 OG yet)
  • Rujah rolls his save (>10 means no OG, <10 means 3 OG at the beginning of next turn)
  • Rujah's turn ends
  • A bunch of junk happens
  • Rujah's turn begins
  • Rujah applies 3 OG damage if he rolled <10 last turn

A save is just an unmodified 1d20 roll:

  • Above a 10: The OG damage ends
  • Below a 10: You take damage at the beginning of your next turn and you must re-roll a save at the end of your next turn.[/sblock]
 

[sblock=GM, Judge]
Fenwick's Execution Axe is a "Brutal 2" weapon. According to Adventurer's Vault, this means that you re-roll any ones or twos on the damage die (d12). Should I just go ahead and substitute 1d10+2 for 1d12 in all places it applies? The curve comes out the same, and I wouldn't have to re-roll.

Also, for the judge, Fenwick has only got one approval for level 1 so far. Does he check out?[/sblock]
 

[sblock=OOC]
If you meant save the breath weapon Jin, all you gotta do to keep Rujah from using it at this point is stay in the area of his weapon. He won't hit you guys with it unless you okay him to do so. So if you'd rather he didn't use it, just stay in the area. I don't THINK Rujah will be able to use another action instead, unless HM will allow me to switch and use Thorn Strike on the swarm(and I'd only do that if I could choose NOT to pull the swarm to me... since I don't know if the swarm can climb the trap, and wouldn't want to pull them out of it, ;)[/sblock]

[sblock=Save roll]
1d20=10
So, 10 is neither less than 10 nor greater than ten... so is it successful? >.>[/sblock]
 

[sblock=BB]
Should I just go ahead and substitute 1d10+2 for 1d12 in all places it applies? The curve comes out the same, and I wouldn't have to re-roll.

My Philosophy: All rolls should be transparent (in their time). That means that eventually every roll should be posted. Even the ones that don't count.

Here's how I would do it:
Damage: 1d12+4=6 Weapon is Brutal 2! Re-rolling...
Damage: 1d12+4=5 Weapon is Brutal 2! Re-rolling...
Damage: 1d12+4=13

1d10+2 actually has different statistical results (OK. You can also argue that IC is not exactly the same statistically rolling a real d20, but I digress).

If multiple rolls are a hassle, You could also do it by setting up 3 or 4 1d12 rolls a priori...(1d12;1d12;1d12;1d12) and then take the first value over 2, but that can get confusing for the person reading the roll history. Either way, both are legal.
[/sblock]
 

[sblock=Theroc]
1d20=10
So, 10 is neither less than 10 nor greater than ten... so is it successful? >.>

Sorry. > or = to 10 is successful. You will take no OG damage at the beginning of your next turn
[/sblock]

[sblock=Dragon Breath]
If you meant save the breath weapon Jin, all you gotta do to keep Rujah from using it at this point is stay in the area of his weapon. He won't hit you guys with it unless you okay him to do so. So if you'd rather he didn't use it, just stay in the area.

That's correct. Theroc was clear in his readying action. It is dependent upon everyone being out of range before his next turn. If this doesn't happen, the readied action is wasted. Judge may have an opinion on whether or not Dragon Breath can be used again in this encounter, but I say, Heck. Go ahead since, technically, it wasn't spent (just readied).

Theroc might, however, want to specify the 3X3 blast area in terms of coordinates. That would be more specific and allow other players to know if their characters are safe.


I don't THINK Rujah will be able to use another action instead, unless HM will allow me to switch and use Thorn Strike on the swarm(and I'd only do that if I could choose NOT to pull the swarm to me... since I don't know if the swarm can climb the trap, and wouldn't want to pull them out of it, ;)

Nope. Your instructions were clear, and readying an action is a Standard Action. Technically you did not post a Minor action, but I prefer all actions to be contained within a single post if possible. This makes things easier to trace.[/sblock]
 

[sblock=Theroc]

Sorry. > or = to 10 is successful. You will take no OG damage at the beginning of your next turn
[/sblock]

[sblock=Dragon Breath]

That's correct. Theroc was clear in his readying action. It is dependent upon everyone being out of range before his next turn. If this doesn't happen, the readied action is wasted. Judge may have an opinion on whether or not Dragon Breath can be used again in this encounter, but I say, Heck. Go ahead since, technically, it wasn't spent (just readied).

Theroc might, however, want to specify the 3X3 blast area in terms of coordinates. That would be more specific and allow other players to know if their characters are safe.
[/sblock]

[sblock=OOC]
[sblock=Actions]
If Rujah gets out, he'll turn and warn the others to get back away from the pit, preparing his breath weapon. (Ready Action to use Dragon Breath as a Close blast 3 once everyone clears back)[/sblock]
Bold emphasis and underline added for quote. I did specify. Close Blast 3 is a 3X3 square... or did I misunderstand something?[/sblock]
 

Remove ads

Top