Benefit of having 2 Ring of Wizardry of the same level?

Shin Okada

Explorer
What will happen if, say, a Sorcerer who's base spells per day for 1st-level is 6 has 2 "Ring of Wizardry I" wear one on the right hand and one on the left hand?

That is not a spell effect nor bonus number (and even if so, that is nameless). So I guess just the rule for multiplying is applied and double + double = triple. Am I right about this?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hmm, good question. I'd be inclined to agree that doubled x2 = tripled. Unless you ruled that it was two bonuses from an identical source and didn't allow any benefit from the second ring. But IMHO, tripled is the way to go.
 

Personally, I'd rule that it was two bonuses from the same source, and thus the second ring wouldn't do anything. Whether or not it's typed, it's still exactly that - two bonuses from the same source.
 

So is this a "wizardring" bonus? What if I wear a Ring of Wizardry II, is this two "wizardring" bonuses.
To the OP, I would I agree with Thurbane. The text, RAW is "doubled", and there is a strong precedent for "doubling" in D&D.
 

I'd go with doubled doubling is tripling. If the guy can afford two rings of wizardry, I don't see why e.g. two rings of level 3 spells should be that weaker than a ring of level 3 and a ring of level 4 spells.
 

With the motto that pile-it on play isn't fun, I'd say that the second rind has no effect. Ruling it as a doubling-doubling being a tripling is fine too, though. Also the ring explicitly only doubles the "base" spell slots, so even without the generic D&D ruling on such effects, it makes sense that two rings of wizardry would only multiply the base spell slots (and thus not the spell slots created by the other ring).
 

It's a weak item for its price. I'd allow it, with each ring giving +100% the number of base (not bonus) spells, just like it says in the book.

Cheers, -- N
 

Nifft said:
It's a weak item for its price. I'd allow it, with each ring giving +100% the number of base (not bonus) spells, just like it says in the book.

Cheers, -- N

That is true. Actually, a pile of "Pearl of Power" is much effective for wizards. Pearl of Power I is only 1,000gp while Ring of Wizardly I costs 20,000gp. Who has 20 "base" spells per day for even level 1 spells? Still, the ring is usefull for someone do not prepare spells.
 


Diirk said:
For a wizard, its cheaper to get pearl's of power than a ring of wizardy, at any spell level. Altho it is slightly less versatile.
I'd argue that the Pearls of Power are actually more versatile -- though only if you calculate across multiple encounters. Enough Pearls of Power turns spells into per-encounter abilities. :)

Cheers, -- N
 

Remove ads

Top