Circle of Protection (Wizard Utility from Dragon 382)

Shawn_Kehoe

First Post
Hi all,

A rules adjudication issue came up with Circle of Protection in my last two sessions. I've excerpted the relevant portion of the power description below:

Effect: The burst becomes a zone of protection until the end of your next turn. You and allies gain resist to all damage equal to your Intelligence modifier while in the zone. Enemies must spend 2 extra squares of movement to enter the zone. You make an attack.
Target: Each enemy in the burst
Attack: Intelligence vs. Fortitude
Hit: Push the target from the burst’s origin square to a space outside the zone. You cannot push the target when doing so causes the target to take damage or make a saving throw.

My reading of the attack portion is that it only applies to enemies within the area of effect when the zone is first established. Afterwards, enemies move into the zone for 2 squares of movement, but do not immediately get pushed back.

My player suggested that the attack is "built-in" to the zone effect, so it is made whenever a creature moves into the zone.

Thematically I see why he would think that, but I don't think the rules reading supports it. I played by his interpretation during the session, since it was a gray area and I'd sooner go too easy rather than risk killing a PC over a rules dispute.

Thoughs?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From what you have quoted, I believe your ruling is correct. It is clear that the push is a once-off effect.

Edit: I just read the full version. You are definitely correct in your interpretation. Your player is wrong.
 
Last edited:

My reading of the attack portion is that it only applies to enemies within the area of effect when the zone is first established. Afterwards, enemies move into the zone for 2 squares of movement, but do not immediately get pushed back.

My player suggested that the attack is "built-in" to the zone effect, so it is made whenever a creature moves into the zone.
Your reading is correct. If the attack were made whenever a creature enters the zone, it would say that. The attack is made on the standard action in which you activate the power and on each minor action in which you sustain the power. The only passive impact of the power is the resistance and the movement penalty.
 

Not a 4e guru by any means, but it seems pretty clear that it only triggers once, particularly because it's "each enemy in the burst." If it pushed each person individually as they entered the zone, they'd have worded that as having a single target but triggering multiple times.

Cheers!
Kinak
 


Remove ads

Top