• NOW LIVE! Into the Woods--new character species, eerie monsters, and haunting villains to populate the woodlands of your D&D games.

Converting Epic Level Beings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yeah...I was just concerned about the wording. Essentially, on someone else's action, they cast a spell at him. As a swift action usable on another person's turn (or maybe immediate action is more appropriate here), Ency can catch the spells. We could then either allow him to immediately return the spell (still on the caster's action), and just "owe" his slam attack when its his turn, or hold the spell until his action, then direct it back. I'm fine either way, I just think we need to be clear.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

i think the spell can be caught on someone else's turn, and maybe then he only sacrifices his slam if he "throws" it back.
 

So more like this?

Catch Spells (Su): As an immediate action, Enceladus may attempt to catch spells directed at him. This functions similar to spell turning, except there is no limit to the number of spell levels he can catch, and the spell is not immediately redirected. For each spell caught, Enceladus may choose to hold the spell and redirect it on his turn (losing a slam attack for every two spells redirected in such a manner), or he may choose to let the spell energy dissipate harmlessly, in which case he does not lose a slam attack. Enceladus may not catch more than four spells at a given time (two per hand).

To redirect a spell, Enceladus "throws" it at a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.
 

Shade said:
So more like this?

Catch Spells (Su): As an immediate action...

The problem with Immediate actions is that you can only perform one per round, unless there's been a precedent I'm unaware of. :\

Regards
Mortis
 

Good point. I suppose it will have to be worded as "a free action usable on another creature's turn". :\
 

Another option, as we're talking epic creatures, is the possiblity of more than one Immediate action per turn. A new epic feat could do the job! ;)

Regards
Mortis
 


Take three...

Catch Spells (Su): As a free action usable on another creature's turn, Enceladus may attempt to catch spells directed at him. This functions similar to spell turning, except there is no limit to the number of spell levels he can catch, and the spell is not immediately redirected. For each spell caught, Enceladus may choose to hold the spell and redirect it on his turn (losing a slam attack for every two spells redirected in such a manner), or he may choose to let the spell energy dissipate harmlessly, in which case he does not lose a slam attack. Enceladus may not catch more than four spells at a given time (two per hand).

To redirect a spell, Enceladus "throws" it at a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.
 

Shade said:
Take three...

Catch Spells (Su): As a free action usable on another creature's turn, Enceladus may attempt to catch spells directed at him. This functions similar to spell turning, except there is no limit to the number of spell levels he can catch, and the spell is not immediately redirected. For each spell caught, Enceladus may choose to hold the spell and redirect it on his turn (losing a slam attack for every two spells redirected in such a manner), or he may choose to let the spell energy dissipate harmlessly, in which case he does not lose a slam attack. Enceladus may not catch more than four spells at a given time (two per hand).

To redirect a spell, Enceladus "throws" it at a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.

Looks good. You may need to add a line stating something like 'Ency must redirect the held spells on his NEXT turn or the spell energy dissipates harmlessly' or he could 'technically' hold the spell forever ;)

Regards
Mortis
 


Status
Not open for further replies.

Into the Woods

Remove ads

Top