Converting Epic Level Beings

Status
Not open for further replies.
Heh. :)

I like where you are going, but I think I need to rewrite some parts to make it clearer. Let me know if I change anything that shouldn't be changed.

Catch Spells (Su): Enceladus is able to catch spell energy and hold it in his hands. When a spell targets Enceladus, he may attempt to catch the spell as a free action. Additionally, Enceladus must succeed on a special caster check (1d20 + 24) against the spell. The DC for this caster check is 11 + the spell’s caster level. If he succeeds on the check, that spell is caught; if he fails, that spell functions normally.

Enceladus may hold up to two spells in each hand, and may not catch more than four spells per round. For each spell caught, Enceladus may choose to redirect it on his turn (losing a slam attack for every two spells redirected in such a manner). If Enceladus does not redirect the held spells on his next turn, the spell energy dissipates harmlessly.

To redirect a spell, Enceladus "throws" it at a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.


For that last part, I'm thinking maybe... ranged touch attack to target a creature??
 

log in or register to remove this ad

BOZ said:
Catch Spells (Su): Enceladus is able to catch spell energy and hold it in his hands. When a spell targets Enceladus, he may attempt to catch the spell as a free action. Additionally, Enceladus must succeed on a special caster check (1d20 + 24) against the spell. The DC for this caster check is 11 + the spell’s caster level. If he succeeds on the check, that spell is caught; if he fails, that spell functions normally.

Enceladus may hold up to two spells in each hand, and may not catch more than four spells per round. For each spell caught, Enceladus may choose to redirect it on his turn (losing a slam attack for every two spells redirected in such a manner). If Enceladus does not redirect the held spells on his next turn, the spell energy dissipates harmlessly.

To redirect a spell, Enceladus "throws" it at a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.

For that last part, I'm thinking maybe... ranged touch attack to target a creature??

My only concern is with the bolded bit above...that could be interpreted as "he doesn't lose a slam attack if he only throws one spell".

A ranged touch attack probably makes the most sense.
 

Shade said:
My only concern is with the bolded bit above...that could be interpreted as "he doesn't lose a slam attack if he only throws one spell".

You wrote that part. :p

Shade said:
A ranged touch attack probably makes the most sense.

To redirect a spell, Enceladus makes a ranged touch attack against a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.

What should be the range?
 

BOZ said:
You wrote that part. :p

No wonder I'm concerned! :heh:

(How can I word that better?)

BOZ said:
To redirect a spell, Enceladus makes a ranged touch attack against a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.

What should be the range?

Looks good. 60 feet?
 

Rewrite this as you will:
Enceladus may redirect up to two spells by making a throwing motion towards the target, thus losing one of his slam attacks. If Enceladus redirects more than two spells (up to a maximum of four), he loses both slam attacks.
 



OK, here goes...

Catch Spells (Su): Enceladus is able to catch spell energy and hold it in his hands. When a spell targets Enceladus, he may attempt to catch the spell as a free action. Additionally, Enceladus must succeed on a special caster check (1d20 + 24) against the spell. The DC for this caster check is 11 + the spell’s caster level. If he succeeds on the check, that spell is caught; if he fails, that spell functions normally.

Enceladus may hold up to two spells in each hand, and may not catch more than four spells per round. For each spell caught, Enceladus may choose to redirect it on his turn. If Enceladus does not redirect the held spells on his next turn, the spell energy dissipates harmlessly.

To redirect a spell, Enceladus "throws" it at a target of his choice, following all the rules of the original spell for valid targets. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster, for purposes of determining caster level, etc.

Enceladus may redirect up to two spells by making a throwing motion towards the target, thus losing one of his slam attacks. If Enceladus redirects more than two spells (up to a maximum of four), he loses both slam attacks. The spell is treated exactly as if cast by the original caster (for purposes of determining caster level, etc.) and for determining valid targets (he cannot, for example, throw a charm person at an aberration).
 

"may attempt to catch the spell as a free action" - should that be, he "may automatically attempt to catch the spell"?

about time this fella ended up in homebrews...
 

That might be the way to go.

Are we giving him rock throwing and catching? I think we should.

If so, should we call it "spell catching" so it flows better with rock catching?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top