Crafting a Staff

Lord Pendragon

First Post
I don't use the Item Creation rules very often, so I'm a bit fuzzy on them and could use some verification from the experts. :)

From what I'm reading in the SRD, crafting a Staff with only one spell, which requires 1 charge to use, costs exactly the same amount of gold and xp as crafting the same spell (assuming the spell is below 4th-level and always at the lowest caster level) as a Wand.

Is this correct?

Since a Staff allows a higher-level caster to use his own caster level and feats, I had thought crafting a Staff would cost more, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

If true, are Staffs just meant to be more attractive, or is there a drawback I'm not noticing?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Correct for the mechanics, although a staff's minimum caster level is 8 or that required by the spell, whichever is greater.
 


Antoine said:
Correct for the mechanics, although a staff's minimum caster level is 8 or that required by the spell, whichever is greater.
Ah. Okay, this does change things somewhat. A spell which does not rely on caster level for its effect would be cheaper as a wand. Anything that does rely on caster level is probably better off as a staff which, of course, cannot be taken until a later level.

Thanks guys. Good to know. Although now I'm faced with a dilemma. I was considering getting a Staff of Golden Barding for my paladin to use on his mount at 8th-level (he's waiting for a griffon). But with the minimum caster level, that would cost 1 x 8 x 750= 6000gp. Not a bad deal, but not chump change at 8th-level, either. Might be better to forgo the spell and just get the mount some light armor. :p
 

Remove ads

Top