Flame Blade abuse/legality?

You still cannot activate a wand unless its in your spell list. Unless your a bard or rogue using use magic device.

What's your point? Moon Blade is on the spell list of clerics with the Moon Domain, and the wand removes the "limited domain slots" problem.

Now, Since, you cannot be under the effects of the same spell at the same time. This limits the ability to use two of these spells entirely.

I'm afraid you're wrong in this case, since Flame Blade is not "Target: You" but "Effect: Swordlike Beam".

You're not under the effects of any spells. It's like saying "You can't use Summon Monster III a second time if the first one hasn't expired!"

Nothing in the rules prevents you casting Flame Blade twice and producing two Swordlike Beams.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Gwarthkam said:

1: is it 18-20/x2 or 20/x2 for flame blade?

2: Can you wield two flame blades?

Gwarthkam, glad I could help out :D

my answers to these questions:

1. Ruleswise, I think I would have ruled this as 18-20 x2. Scimitar-like energy-weapon to increase the power of druids for a short battle. I think this was the intention of the spell. Ruleswise, I don't think there is an explicit rule. I could be mistaken.

2. Yes, by the rules you certainly can.

I agree on the avoiding the walking bandaid issue, it gets real old real fast. Of course he wants to feel like he is actually directly contributing to the outcome. But if it is only for the very tough fights, it is easy to partly hinder this cheese. Half-elemental templates, half--dragon templates, red dragons, fiends, ... the list of fire resistant creatures is long. And keeping a few opponents that aren't invulnerable to his attacks means that he still gets to feel that he is contributing.

Good luck with the game, sounds fun!
 

"wielded like a scimitar" is not the same as damaging like a scimitar. So I will have to vote for 20 x2 crit because the spell does not state another crit range. "The character wields this bladelike beam as if it were a scimitar."
 

LokiDR -
I agree that the spell isn't terribly specific. But I have to disagree about the crit of the flame blade.

I know it all comes down to DM interpretation. I looked at the closest spell I could think of. Spiritual Weapon. Both create a weapon made of energy(one force, one fire) but the spiritual states(From the SRD):

The weapon takes the shape of a weapon favored by the character's deity or a weapon with some spiritual significance or symbolism to the character and has the same threat range and critical multipliers as a real weapon of its form

Using a very similar spell as a reference I would rule that it has the scimitars crit range.

Ahrimon
 

Gwarthkam said:
Destil:

We havn't played Flame Blade as ellegible for Power Attack, given that it's a spell, touch attack and no str. bonus etc. would you allow it to be influenced by PA?

Yes, it is fun using it :) (or so it seems)
With the original power attack I would. 3E power attack is a very abstract feat that simply increased damage at the cost of precision. There are many ways to think about it within the game world (going for a 'called shot', waiting for a potential opening in their defense, a big wild swing et cetera). Thus in my mind any melee weapon or weapon-like spell is elagable.

The revised power attack is written with a mind to a more specific and less abstrac concept (well, the same concept as was originally intended, just expressed far better within the rules). it has a big wild swing with a heavy weapon in mind. If I were using that I wouldn't allow it.

Just my interpertations of the rules and the layer of abstraction they provide, though. Not offical by any means.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:


What's your point? Moon Blade is on the spell list of clerics with the Moon Domain, and the wand removes the "limited domain slots" problem.



I'm afraid you're wrong in this case, since Flame Blade is not "Target: You" but "Effect: Swordlike Beam".

You're not under the effects of any spells. It's like saying "You can't use Summon Monster III a second time if the first one hasn't expired!"

Nothing in the rules prevents you casting Flame Blade twice and producing two Swordlike Beams.

-Hyp.

Flame Blade has Range: 0, which means it is indeed cast on the character, so I'd go with only one allowed at a time.
 

Artoomis said:


Flame Blade has Range: 0, which means it is indeed cast on the character, so I'd go with only one allowed at a time.


No it has Range: Touch
You can "Touch" the ground and the Flame Blade will appear.

Nothing in the spell sas you cant hand it off to some one else or even throw it with a Throw anything feat.
 

melkoriii said:



No it has Range: Touch
You can "Touch" the ground and the Flame Blade will appear.

Nothing in the spell sas you cant hand it off to some one else or even throw it with a Throw anything feat.

The SRD has Range:0. Errata? In any case the language seems to indicate that the spell only works for the caster.

Even with Range:Touch the spell is targeted on someone. You certainly could argue either way, but I'd say that the effect of energy coming out from your hand is one that falls under the "no stacking of identical effects" rule.
 

I'd let him get away with it. I'd be happy to see a cleric do something besides play medic, so unless it becomes terribly unbalancing I'd say it's fine.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top