Help Me Challenge One Of My Players

+5 Keyboard! said:
Sorry, Darklone, you don't get to draw weapons and make attacks on AOO's. This is what your quoting from the PHB weapon section on ranged weapons, right?

Projectile weapons use ammunition: arrows (for bows), bolts (for crossbows), or sling bullets (for slings). When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading. Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while normal ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.

What this means is that the normal rule for having to use a move action to draw a stored item, does not apply when using a bow to attack on your turn. The archer combines the draw and fire movement is all.

This is why you don't ever hear of archers suddenly yanking arrows out of quivers and stabbing everyone that provokes an AOO around them.
Legolas :lol: ?

The trick is to draw the arrow as a free action not during the AoO but before ;)

The character is using a bow... so he can draw ammunition as a free action, you quoted it. Nothing keeps you from doing that after your full attack action. Looking at a normal archer, you now have a character with a bow in one hand and the arrow in another hand. What keeps him from making an AoO with the arrow ;)? Certainly not the rules as written, just your interpretation.
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Darklone said:
Legolas :lol: ?

The trick is to draw the arrow as a free action not during the AoO but before ;)

The character is using a bow... so he can draw ammunition as a free action, you quoted it. Nothing keeps you from doing that after your full attack action. Looking at a normal archer, you now have a character with a bow in one hand and the arrow in another hand. What keeps him from making an AoO with the arrow ;)? Certainly not the rules as written, just your interpretation.

I'm going by WotC FAQs, Sage Advice articles, discussing rules with fellow game designers, and the rules as written. Free actions happen on your turn unless the action in question has specific rules that allow you to take the action when it is not your turn. Pulling arrows from quivers is not an action you get to take in response to someone else's actions.

I'm really not trying to start a rules debate and threadjack this discussion. If this is how you wish to rule things in your game, that's fine. It's not going to bother me one bit. I do suggest you go back and check out some errata, the free FAQ you can download from the WotC site, and compare other free actions. It should make more sense to you then.

Not trying to argue with you. Just correcting a misperception.
 

I'm going by WotC FAQs, Sage Advice articles, discussing rules with fellow game designers, and the rules as written. Free actions happen on your turn unless the action in question has specific rules that allow you to take the action when it is not your turn. Pulling arrows from quivers is not an action you get to take in response to someone else's actions.

I think what Darklone is saying is that on his turn, as his very last action, as a free action, he pulls an arrow from his quiver and holds it. Thus giving him a weapon to make AoO's with. In other words, what Darklone is doing isn't in "response" to an AoO, it's "preparing for the possibility" of an AoO. And all done on the archer's turn.

I have no idea whether that's legal or right, I'm just trying to help clarify.

:)
 





+5 Keyboard! said:
I'm going by WotC FAQs, Sage Advice articles, discussing rules with fellow game designers, and the rules as written. Free actions happen on your turn unless the action in question has specific rules that allow you to take the action when it is not your turn. Pulling arrows from quivers is not an action you get to take in response to someone else's actions.
Excuses for not being clear... is my English so bad nowadays ;)?

Matchstick got it right. I never meant to say you do something not on your own action.
 

Matchstick said:
I think what Darklone is saying is that on his turn, as his very last action, as a free action, he pulls an arrow from his quiver and holds it. Thus giving him a weapon to make AoO's with. In other words, what Darklone is doing isn't in "response" to an AoO, it's "preparing for the possibility" of an AoO. And all done on the archer's turn.

I have no idea whether that's legal or right, I'm just trying to help clarify.

:)

Thanks. If you have the luxury of knowing that your opponent's next move is going to be grappling you, then that's a sound tactic, though I think a canny DM might rule that after the archer has moved and attacked or made a full attack plus a move equivalent action that pulling an arrow out could be an extra move action. Guess it depends on how nice your DM is feeling ;)

shrug
 

Remove ads

Top