"How many roads..." - Command word question

Wands aren't Command Activated, per the SRD. They're Spell Trigger items, and though they might use a command word, they also require that the user be holding them, and that they have an understanding of at least the elements of the spell (i.e. it has to be on your class list.)

Per SRD:
SRD said:
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it’s even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell. (This is the case even for a character who can’t actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.) The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
It's more like rings, hats, rods and such that we're talking about.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The question remains though, how many items can be activated, by accident or on purpose, with a single utterance?
My answer would be one, unless you are somehow able to take two standard actions on the same turn, because activating a magic item takes one standard action.

That assumes, of course, that you're ignoring the "accidental activation" rule. If not, then apparently there is no limit to the number of magic items you can "accidentally" activate as a free action, if they all have the same command word.
 

If there is, by RAW, a difference between free action accidents and standard action on-purposes, than the answer to how many magical, command word only magic items can you accidently trigger if they all share the same command word would be
"all of them".

Now, with that said, If I was the DM, I'd enforce the "Accidental use of the word" thing like a Nazi, for my player out of character. If I suspect the command word was chosen on purpose to have nothing to do with the spell or effect, I'd be questioning any time to word was uttered from my player's mouth. If the word did apply to the item, I'd be questioning any time the word was uttered from my player's mouth. It would have to be applicable to the dialogue, and without the slightest indication of purposefully triggering the item, basically I would only accept it occuring when it was inconvenent for the player.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top