more than one dodge buddy?


log in or register to remove this ad



duhtroll said:
I am talking about those who have defensive throw and/or elusive target. Both of those allow extra attacks on foes who miss you, but that's only against the foe you designate as being your dodge buddy.

So this would be the one designee. I want to know if there is ever a way they can exploit this to use defensive throw to charge through 5 opponents (who all miss) so they get free trip attacks. Then if they hit you can have karmic strike and hit them anyway.
-A

To make a comment that doesn't regard taking feats multiple times... FYI, the Cause Overreach ability of Elusive Target works against anyone, not just your Dodge buddy. Diverting Defense is the one that only works against a Dodge buddy. So you can run past those guys and if they all miss, you get a trip attempt on each of them. And depending on what side of the fence your DM is on, you might also get follow-up attacks on them if you have Improved Trip.

Bill
Fan of Elusive Target
 

The footnotes don't say anything that the "Special:" rules don't already say, so I'm not sure why you are giving them special significance.
 


Chorn said:
Your interpretation is completely wrong and has no basis.
Patryn of Elvensha said:
You interpretation not only is not "the best or only," it's not even valid.
This is somewhat off-topic, but I think you guys are coming down pretty hard on someone who really does have a valid point. elrobey may not be right here, but I am certainly convinced by his argument that it's a plausable perspective. Feats are not only able to be taken once unless otherwise noted; all dodge bonuses stack. Ergo, you could take dodge more than once to gain a +2 dodge bonus since it is not expressly forbidden in the feat's description.
 

evilbob said:
This is somewhat off-topic, but I think you guys are coming down pretty hard on someone who really does have a valid point. elrobey may not be right here, but I am certainly convinced by his argument that it's a plausable perspective. Feats are not only able to be taken once unless otherwise noted; all dodge bonuses stack. Ergo, you could take dodge more than once to gain a +2 dodge bonus since it is not expressly forbidden in the feat's description.

I've highlighted your error.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I've highlighted your error.
How thoughtful. :)

Seriously, though: you've not actually proved this. The language of the book is "wiggle"-enough to support the theory, especially since every feat description that includes "you can take this feat multiple times" includes a clarification reference as to whether or not the effects stack (potentially implying, "the special line about multiple feat usage is only necessary to clarify stacking issues for such"). Your main claim so far - and please, correct me if I'm wrong - is that the feat table contains a note for each feat that is able to be taken more than once, thus implying that unless noted, no feat can be taken more than once. (I was not actually able to find the errata you quoted; where did you get that, actually?) Again, this does not conclusively prove that no feat may be taken more than once unless noted; it proves that the feats so noted have special descriptions that apply when they are taken more than once. Without context, it's hard to say whether or not that the line from your quote, "each feat may not be taken more than once," is clearly referring to only the feats listed just above it, or any feats, ever. If you have more you can post on this, it may clarify the situation beyond all "wiggle room" and thus resolve the issue. As it stands, elrobey is not "clearly" wrong.

Again, I'm not trying to push that the theory is correct; but I think it is a plausable one given the facts I've seen presented. And certainly not worth the more-than-a-little scorn received it, which caused me to post in the first place.
 

evilbob said:
How thoughtful. :)

I live to serve!

The language of the book is "wiggle"-enough to support the theory, especially since every feat description that includes "you can take this feat multiple times" includes a clarification reference as to whether or not the effects stack (potentially implying, "the special line about multiple feat usage is only necessary to clarify stacking issues for such").

Except, of course, that the first full and complete phrase in each of those text blocks is "You can gain this feat multiple times."

Full stop.

If that is, in fact, the general rule, then why is it repeated - as its own clause - in each Special section where it applies?

By your own logic it's superfluous.


is that the feat table contains a note for each feat that is able to be taken more than once, thus implying that unless noted, no feat can be taken more than once.

Exactly.

(I was not actually able to find the errata you quoted; where did you get that, actually?)

It's the errata for the Eberron Campaign Setting book. It's also just the first one I had on-hand that specifically mentioned the table to which I was referring. You can find it on the Wizard's site.
 

Remove ads

Top