NG vs. NE: Neutral Evil is Victorious!

OOC: Yes, I am. Homey has tougher scales than a run-of-the-mill adult Styx dragon.

St. George did not blow away (Fort save 18+1=19)

Round 180

Homey escapes the pin on the third attempt, but does not escape the grapple.

Rocky pins Homey, then fails to damage him.

St. George does not blow away (Fort save 17+1=18).
 

log in or register to remove this ad

OOC: Yeah, I was about to ask about the pin bonus too.

St. George, his holy patience tested, decides that he must improve himself to carry this battle forward more successfully. He again praises Rocky's strength, and places a Bull's Strength upon himself.
 




PJSlavner said:
Part of Rocky (Rocky is 40 feet tall) is out of the aura, so Rocky still has bull's strength.
But, he'll never be out of the aura where St. George touches him to deliver the spell, right? Am I missing something?
 


Globe of Invulnerability, Lesser
An immobile, faintly shimmering magical sphere surrounds you and excludes all spell effects of 3rd level or lower. The area or effect of any such spells does not include the area of the lesser globe of invulnerability. Such spells fail to affect any target located within the globe. Excluded effects include spell-like abilities and spells or spell-like effects from items. However, any type of spell can be cast through or out of the magical globe. Spells of 4th level and higher are not affected by the globe, nor are spells already in effect when the globe is cast. The globe can be brought down by a targeted dispel magic spell, but not by an area dispel magic. You can leave and return to the globe without penalty.

I guess the key is "fail to affect" rather than "cannot be cast". Man, you'd like after enough of these celestials I'd get this right. I was careful earlier, at least, with my 4th level buff.
 

Greybar said:
I guess the key is "fail to affect" rather than "cannot be cast".
Yes, exactly. Rocky is a "target located within the globe" when St. George hits him with Bull's Strength. I can see PJSlavner's point that part of Rocky is not within the globe at the time, but I don't agree with the logic on that. 'Nuff said. :)

PJSlavner, don't you have a plane to catch! Have a great trip! :D
 

Note that spell effects are not disrupted unless their effects enter the globe, and even then they are merely suppressed, not dispelled.

The above sentence is why I allowed bull's strength to affect Rocky. After thinking about it further (in light of "fail to affect"), I have come to the conclusion that the above sentence applies to spell effects that enter the globe from outside of it.

Rocky does not have extra strength, which did not affect any of the grapple checks. However, Homey does get back 2 more HP, thus leaving him with 76 HP.

Thank you. We get on the plane tomorrow afternoon, so I still will be posting tomorrow morning. I understand wanting to get rid of me so that I do not make any more foolish rulings. :)
 

Remove ads

Top