NG vs. NE: Neutral Evil is Victorious!

OOC: Two questions.

1. Why two concentration checks? I always viewed it as one skill check. Grappling + defensively, yes, but I still always thought it was one check at the higher DC (20 + SL).

2. The pinning brings up an oddity in the grapple rules (another one, you say, PJSlavner?). :p Basically, you pin someone for only one round, which is your turn to your turn. If Homey was still pinned (judging by your use of the word 'keeps'), then he could not have cast a spell or used a spell-like ability. Basically, the only options you have while being pinned is to escape it.

In Round 177, it wasn't clear what action Rocky took. Did he first maintain the pin and then move (no opposed grapple check listed) or did he do something else?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Rocky moved the grapple, which he is allowed to do while pinning. I suspect PJSlavner didn't mention the grapple check, but did roll it.

1. We have always ruled that two different concentration conditions require two checks, not one at the highest difficulty. But in this case, can an AoO even occur in grapple mode? In that case, Homey wouldn't bother to concentrate defensively. (But see the answer to question 2).

2. You're right, Homey's options are much more limited in a pin situation and he couldn't have cast the spell while pinned. But then again, Rocky must have ended the pin after he moved, so Homey can cast the spell. So the pin is over, Homey cast the spell, and it's St. George's turn. Have fun with the miss chance!
 

Gansk said:
Rocky moved the grapple, which he is allowed to do while pinning. I suspect PJSlavner didn't mention the grapple check, but did roll it.
That's Rocky pinned in 176 and by Rocky's turn in 177, Homey is no longer pinned. The rules on pinning make pinning useless by themselves.

Gansk said:
But in this case, can an AoO even occur in grapple mode? In that case, Homey wouldn't bother to concentrate defensively.
Was St. George in range? That's why I thought he cast defensively. He would not provoke an AoO from Rocky. In any case, it doesn't matter as Homey cannot fail either concentration check (although he tried to fail with the natural 1).

Gansk said:
You're right, Homey's options are much more limited in a pin situation and he couldn't have cast the spell while pinned.
On the other hand, the Concentration rules states "grappled or pinned", alluding to the idea that you can cast while pinned. ;)
 

St. George instructs Rocky to keep pinning then crushing the dragon, and lays into Homey with a full attack with the greatsword (continuing PA+5)
 
Last edited:

Per RoTG, you may use a spell-like ability while pinned, provided you make a Concentration check. Homey was still pinned. Rocky used one of his grapple attempts to keep Homey pinned.

Round 178 (cont'd)

St. George does not blow away (31 Fort save). He hits Homey once (rolled 36-5+1=32; best missing roll 21-5+1=17) for 34 points of damage. Homey has 105 HP remaining.

Homey leads off round 179.
 
Last edited:


OOC: The darkness is suppressed in a 20 foot radius around St. George.

Round 179

Neither opponent is stupefied (Rocky Fort save 26; St. George Fort save 31+4=35).

Rocky reestablishes the pin, then fails to damage Homey.

Homey[sblock]Breath weapon is available in round 182.[/sblock]
 

St. George praises Rocky's strength and urges him to continue, while he swings heavily into Homey again.

(Full Attack, but back the PA down to +2 to try to get a few more hits, so:
+3 huge greatsword +22 (-1 size, +2 added str, -2 PA), 4d6 +20)
 



Remove ads

Top