NG vs. NE: Neutral Evil is Victorious!

Gansk said:
Cecilia does not enjoy the bite, but finishes casting a spell anyway (38 Concentration).
Did you forget to add the spell level to the concentration check? There's footnote 1 on the table: "If you are trying to cast, concentrate on, or direct a spell when the distraction occurs, add the level of the spell to the indicated DC." I figure the DC to be 36+SL, which a 38 fails.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes, Gansk did. There is no wave of water.

"Rassafrassin' crit!"

The second spell was not successful, so Cecilia would not have tried to bite the dragon. Instead she concentrates defensively, and webs appear, centered at 100N80E-10Z. Note the increased DC due to Cecilia's feat. Cecilia swims down to 105N90E-35Z, then to 105N55E-30Z. The movement provokes an AoO.

PO will have to escape the webs rather than full attack Cecilia.
 




PJSlavner said:
OOC: Are you talking about fighting underwater? If so, it does not matter for either combatant because they are both aquatic.

Where does it say that aquatic creatures ignore the underwater fighting rules?
 

Gansk, in the SRD, I think that the thought might be coming from the text around the table on underwater combat that states that it is for land-based creatures, namely:

"Land-based creatures can have considerable difficulty when fighting in water. Water affects a creature’s Armor Class, attack rolls, damage, and movement. In some cases a creature’s opponents may get a bonus on attacks. The effects are summarized in the accompanying table. They apply whenever a character is swimming, walking in chestdeep water, or walking along the bottom."

So if you aren't a land-based creature (and I think we can agree all three current combatants are not land-based creatures based on their subtypes), the table doesn't apply.
 

OK, sounds good. Remember that the water elemental was a mistake and is not there anymore. You have to move through webs instead.
 

Gansk said:
Where does it say that aquatic creatures ignore the underwater fighting rules?
I did not think it would have to say it. I did not even look anything up. It just made sense. If I were wrong, I would assume that aquatic creatures that are not amphibious would have their stat blocks reflect their difficulty in fighting underwater. Also, what Greybar said. :)
 

Okay, so PO has an AoO on Cecila's movement, then it's PO's move on 246, no water elemental, but webs entangle him.

Summary (to confirm):
PO is at 100N80E-25Z (15 ft vertical space?)
Cecila is at 105N55E-30Z (10 ft vertical space?)
Webs are 20ft radius sphere centered at 100N80E-10Z, and considered anchored to the walls of the water "trough".

So PO will take a bite as the AoO, but I'll have to get a bit more time and my map to make my next move since I'll need to make sure I get it right with those web.
 

Remove ads

Top