Question regarding the "Drink a potion" action

A flask of oil or vial of holy water is a grenade weapon, and I would allow you do draw one as part of a move action if it was on your belt.

I would apply the same logic to a potion, its the same size in the exact same type of container realy, and in the same place.

To many people want the book to spell out every little thing and micromanage the game for them, it the job of the DM to do that not the rulebook.

My 2 coppers anyway.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Paraxis said:
A flask of oil or vial of holy water is a grenade weapon, and I would allow you do draw one as part of a move action if it was on your belt.

I would apply the same logic to a potion, its the same size in the exact same type of container realy, and in the same place.

To many people want the book to spell out every little thing and micromanage the game for them, it the job of the DM to do that not the rulebook.

My 2 coppers anyway.

My feelings too. Alchemist fire, Tanglefoot Bag, Thunderstone.. those are all weaponlike objects. Smokestick is too. I think since a potion vial isn't any bigger than a 'weapon' or a few of these 'weapon-like objects', no problem with moving and retrieving it (as long as its easily available).

Or, just go for a masterwork potion belt. 10 potions, 1 free action to retrive one in a turn.
 

The term "weaponlike" depends on the context. Anything that can be grabbed or drawn in a weaponlike fashion is weaponlike if context is drawing or grabbing weapons - which would include potions, if they can be drawn in a weaponlike fashion - without opening a backpack, and certainly without rummaging within a backpack.

If you didn't specify that your potion was on such a belt beforehand, well, I can imagine it's non-obvious to the DM. Sure, he's giving you a hard time, but if you in the future explain that you generally keep as many potions as possible within easy reach, he'll probably not bother you until you run around with more than a dozen ;-).
 

Remove ads

Top