Spiritual Weapon vs. The Ethereal

Quidam

First Post
Tonight we had a sneaky ol' phase spider pop in, sink its teeth into a member of the party, then pop back into the ethereal plane. The party cleric readied Spiritual Weapon for the next time it appeared.

Here's the question: after the phase spider jaunts back into the ethereal plane, the weapon can hit it- it's a force effect- but can it "see" it?

On another minor side note- there's no mention of the weapon's speed. If you retarget it during your turn, is there any limit to how far it can go aside from the range of the spell and the limit of your sight?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


That's sorta what I reckoned, insofar as the redirection goes.

If the weapon can continue to detect a target even if the target goes invisible or ethereal, though, that makes Spiritual Weapon quite useful in helping to target such foes. You might not be able to see them, but you can sure target their square...
 

I suppose I would allow the spritual weapon to track a phase spider and keep attacking it, even once the spider had gone etherial.

However, you can't cast this spell and just designate "The invisible wizard".

If you cast this spell on the wizard, and then he subsequently made himself invisible though, I'd allow it to keep attacking him and tracking him.

However... this argument of mine seems to indicate that you would not get a 50% miss chance for the invisibility in this case... since the weapon automatically knows where its target is.
 

After reading the spell discrition from the SRD.

It looks like it would attack teh Spider nomatter what once the spider was targeted. Same with a Wizard that goes invisible after being targeted by the spell.
 

I disagree, the spell can only attack what the caster can target. The caster must maintain line of effect and sight of the target.

melkoriii said:
After reading the spell discrition from the SRD.

It looks like it would attack teh Spider nomatter what once the spider was targeted. Same with a Wizard that goes invisible after being targeted by the spell.
 

Where does it say that in the rules.

The spell only talks about the wizard and the weapon moving out of the spell's range.

There is no mention whatsoever of line of sight or line of effect. You're pulling that from nowhere, unless it's mentioned in the errata or the FAQ, which I admit I haven't checked.
 

It stops attacking and returns to your side if you loose sight of it (otherwise known as line of effect). You are directing it so you must be able to target it.

Murrdox said:
Where does it say that in the rules.

The spell only talks about the wizard and the weapon moving out of the spell's range.

There is no mention whatsoever of line of sight or line of effect. You're pulling that from nowhere, unless it's mentioned in the errata or the FAQ, which I admit I haven't checked.
 

It stops attacking and returns to your side if you loose sight of it (otherwise known as line of effect).

Careful - big difference between Line of Sight and Line of Effect.

If Bob is standing on the other side of a Wall of Force, I have Line of Sight but not Line of Effect.

If Bob is standing in a Darkness spell, I have Line of Effect but not Line of Sight.

If Bob is standing in a Darkness spell on the other side of a Wall of Force, I have neither.

-Hyp.
 

I know there is a difference. This spell requires both, as does most spells.

Hypersmurf said:


Careful - big difference between Line of Sight and Line of Effect.

If Bob is standing on the other side of a Wall of Force, I have Line of Sight but not Line of Effect.

If Bob is standing in a Darkness spell, I have Line of Effect but not Line of Sight.

If Bob is standing in a Darkness spell on the other side of a Wall of Force, I have neither.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top