IcyCool
First Post
TYPO5478 said:But the ones that do have abilities not based on charges seem to retain their usefulness. E.g. a Staff of Fire that runs out of charges is still a Staff of Fire; it just isn't really good for much. On the other hand, an uncharged Staff of Woodlands still retains the qualities that weren't charge-dependent.
You'll note that they retain the usefullness that they are stated as retaining. Ultimately, this is your GM's call, and the rules certainly seem to lean his way. Personally, I'd let you keep the staff of power benefits after you ran out of charges (except for the Retributive Strike, of course). But I wouldn't let you do something silly like create or buy a Staff of Power that's out of charges.
Good luck with your GM, let us know how it goes.