Swift Escape/Shield clarification question

babinro

First Post
This one came up last session and I could use some clarification.

One of my players uses a Sorcerer who has an immediate interrupt Swift Escape pg142 PHB2. It was triggered by the burst, he teleported 3 squares away and ended in a square within the burst 5 attack. He then stated that his character should know how large the blast/burst is before deciding to use this power as characters know all effects of powers that target them.

Being a Wild Magic user, we allowed him to use the full range of the teleport to get out of harms way. This was fine for the player (obviously), but I'm not sure if that's the intended rules for such powers.

Any thoughts?

I'm torn because I'm fine with powers like a Wizards Shield utility pg161 PHB1 working with knowledge of what the attack roll was. I'm fine with going in PC's favor for powers like this, just curious if that's what the rules intend.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think the rules intend that the PCs will be effective, heroic, and enjoyable. I think that ruling that the magic takes the PC out of harm's way makes the most sense.
 

This one came up last session and I could use some clarification.

One of my players uses a Sorcerer who has an immediate interrupt Swift Escape pg142 PHB2. It was triggered by the burst, he teleported 3 squares away and ended in a square within the burst 5 attack. He then stated that his character should know how large the blast/burst is before deciding to use this power as characters know all effects of powers that target them.

Being a Wild Magic user, we allowed him to use the full range of the teleport to get out of harms way. This was fine for the player (obviously), but I'm not sure if that's the intended rules for such powers.

Any thoughts?

I'm torn because I'm fine with powers like a Wizards Shield utility pg161 PHB1 working with knowledge of what the attack roll was. I'm fine with going in PC's favor for powers like this, just curious if that's what the rules intend.

He should have known the effect of the blast before he used his power, yes.

However, if he doesn't have the range to teleport out, he should know this, and not teleport out.

Also, that said, if he's a Wild Magic user, he's got to have WAY more than 3 squares. 5 -minimum.-
 

Remove ads

Top