D&D 5E (2024) Artificer: Spell Storing Item?


log in or register to remove this ad



Yes but you cant infuse the higher level slots RAW.

RAI I think you probably shoukd be able to. Seems like something the designers may have overlooked. But maybe not.
No, you don't cast the spell from the Spell-Storing Item. If you did, it would say so.

Instead, it just lets you produce the effect, similar to spell-based potions.
 


If you allow this, does it break the game (e.g. by making artificers far more powerful than any other class)?
So, any rule interpretation that does not "break the game" by making a class "far more powerful than any other class" is okay?

Sorry, I disagree that's the proper bar to evaluate house rules with.
 

So, any rule interpretation that does not "break the game" by making a class "far more powerful than any other class" is okay?

Sorry, I disagree that's the proper bar to evaluate house rules with.

Its a thing that may be RAI. As far as house rules go its probably not a bad idea.
 

I'm confused by the interpretations here.

"Whenever you finish a Long Rest, you can touch one Simple or Martial weapon or one item that you can use as a Spellcasting Focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a level 1, 2, or 3 Artificer spell that has a casting time of an action and doesn't require a Material component that is consumed by the spell (you needn't have the spell prepared)."

When a sorcerer learns a spell, they learn the spell of a level they know. They don't learn a particular slot level of the spell. You don't learn "Chromatic Orb in a 3rd level slot". Because that's not how it works.

"Pick a spell of these levels". Could be spells known, could be Spell Storing Item. Neither has any slot or upcast information attached to it.
 

I'm confused by the interpretations here.

"Whenever you finish a Long Rest, you can touch one Simple or Martial weapon or one item that you can use as a Spellcasting Focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a level 1, 2, or 3 Artificer spell that has a casting time of an action and doesn't require a Material component that is consumed by the spell (you needn't have the spell prepared)."

When a sorcerer learns a spell, they learn the spell of a level they know. They don't learn a particular slot level of the spell. You don't learn "Chromatic Orb in a 3rd level slot". Because that's not how it works.

"Pick a spell of these levels". Could be spells known, could be Spell Storing Item. Neither has any slot or upcast information attached to it.

An upcast spell is level 3. At first glance an upcast spell can be put in it.

You have to cross reference the phb to get a reminder you can't put an upcast lvl 1 or 2 spell in it.

I'm wondering if the designers meant that as sometimes they've worded things badly.
 

An upcast spell is level 3. At first glance an upcast spell can be put in it.
Upcasting explicitly requires a slot. The wording would need to be along the lines of "Pick an artificer spell you can cast with a level 1, 2, or 3 slot."

It's not. And without that, you can't have anything upcast.

Just like you can't pick an upcast spell as a spell known. Not that you wouldn't want to (though you wouldn't), but you can't.
 

Remove ads

Top