I'm not trying to be a rules lawyer here and enforce anything based on a supplement. On the other hand, considering how it's all supposed to be part of "core", I don't want to dismiss it off-hand either.
I'm merely pointing it out as something that I think that WotC needs to provide some clarification on, and that it gives at least some room for doubt.
Well, WOTC has already given clarification on it this - staffs are 1-handed implements and 2-handed weapons. I can repost the CS responses I received again if you want. Other people have gotten the same response.