Chain Devil (Kyton) and Hellish Chains

invokethehojo

First Post
the Hellish Chains attack says this:
+14 vs Reflex
the target is wrapped in chains and restrained (save ends). The chain devil can use its chains to restrain only one creature at a time.

So even though the chains have reach you have to be adjacent to use this. Once restrained do you have to stay next to the target: are the chains restraining them part of your body or do you wrap him in chains then leave?

Just need some clarification
 

log in or register to remove this ad




I suspect you were confusing it with "grabbed" which has a similar but not identical mechanic, and which does end if the target is moved away.
 

He is still restrained, even if he teleports away. It's kind of like DotA.
Even if that is RAW, I would still expect the DM to apply a little judgement to the matter. I mean...do the chains Teleport as well? How does that work?

I had a situation the other night where a player used Robes of Contigency to teleport out of a restrain by an Otygyuh. I totally paid it, and then I high-fived the player for good character composition and using the right power at the right time (nutshell, he played it well, so I rewarded).

I dont know what RAW sais on this, but frankly dont really care. To me, teleport trumps a restrain or grab.
 

Remove ads

Top