Creating magic items from higher level scrolls?

Kershek

Sci-Fi Newshound
My 9th level wizard may have enough to scrape together to make a 75,000 gold Robe of the Archmagi if certain situations happen. The problem here is that it requires Antimagic Field, which is 6th level. Could he make the item if he acquired a scroll of Antimagic Field and used it with a 10% spell failure chance?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Alright, you want a rules quote. Under "Creating Magic Items" on page 282 of the DMG. Last sentance of paragraph 2. "Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed)." Scrolls are magic items.
 
Last edited:


I think the only except to using another spell caster or magic item to make a magic item is scrolls. You can't use a scroll to create a scroll, for instance.
 

Kershek said:
My 9th level wizard may have enough to scrape together to make a 75,000 gold Robe of the Archmagi if certain situations happen. The problem here is that it requires Antimagic Field, which is 6th level. Could he make the item if he acquired a scroll of Antimagic Field and used it with a 10% spell failure chance?

The answer is yes... but that's not the whole story.

"A spell prerequisite may be provided by a character who has prepared the spell (or who knows the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), or through the use of a spell completion or spell trigger magic item or a spell-like ability that produces the desired spell effect. For each day that passes in the creation process, the creator must expend one spell completion item or one charge from a spell trigger item if either of those objects is used to supply a prerequisite."

So, in fact, you need one scroll of AMF per day... which is one per 1000gp in the base price of the item... which is seventy five scrolls of AMF.

-Hyp.
 

Ottergame said:
I think the only except to using another spell caster or magic item to make a magic item is scrolls. You can't use a scroll to create a scroll, for instance.

What's your reasoning?

-Hyp.
 

Aside from the antimagic field prerequisite issue... the caster in question isn't high enough level to meet the item's "Caster Level", which is 14th (per 3.0 DMG). As both versions of the DMG state, for Wondrous Items the Caster Level is a "minimum on the creator's level".

More: www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
 


Ottergame said:
Scroll creation rules state directly the maker of the item must know the spell.

So do the rules for every other item.

Creating Scrolls: The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard)...

Creating Rods: If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the rod, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard)...

Creating Potions: The creator must have prepared the spell to be placed in the potion (or must know the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard)...

Creating Magic Weapons: If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the weapon, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard)...

etc.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top