[d20 SW] Multifire+Two weapons

vrock

First Post
What happens when you add these two things together in combat. For example, a character is weilding 2 blasters (multifire capable), has the two weapon fighting feat, and wants to multifire both of them in a round. Multifire is done at a -4/-4, and two weapon fighting is -2/-2, so could the character multifire both blasters at -6/-6 and -6/-6 in one round?

The last and first game that our GM ran we ruled that the primary hand could multifire (-4/-4), but the off hand would only get one extra attack at -2, and couldn't multifire. The rules are a bit vague when you stack these two abilities. I wasn't sure that we were implementing it correctly. This was our first d20 SW by the way, so forgive me if this has been covered before. Thanks
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


Your GM was correct. You can't use a weapon on Multifire or Autofire in the off-hand, since firing in those modes is a full-round action in and of itself, and you can't take a full-round action with the off-hand weapon.
 

Sorry about posting in the wrong section, I wasn't sure where this should land.

kenobi65 said:
Your GM was correct. You can't use a weapon on Multifire or Autofire in the off-hand, since firing in those modes is a full-round action in and of itself, and you can't take a full-round action with the off-hand weapon.

Just to be clear, would the primary hand be at -6/-6 or -4/-4 in this case? I made a goof in math in my example above...
 

Is Multifire a full round action itself? If so, then it cannot be combined with TWF at all. You can either use TWF or Multifire, but not both. Can you give us the Feat text?
 

Multifire is a setting you can set your blaster too. It's not a feat - it's an option you can choose when you take a full attack action.

Accordingly, you can use multifire and TWF simultaneously.

The Star Wars Sage said that multifire applies to only one weapon.

Star Wars FAQ said:
Can I use a blaster in either hand, both firing on multifire, during the same round? The rules seem unclear, except that I’d get a big penalty, if I’m reading it right.

The rules are pretty specific, explaining the effects of autofire, multifire, Multishot, Rapid Shot, and a weapon in your off hand. According to Chapter 8 of the core rulebook, wielding a second weapon in your off hand gives you one extra attack only, regardless of its setting. You can still fire your primary weapon in multifire or autofire mode, but not your off-hand weapon.

Using a weapon in your off hand does not double your number of attacks in the Star Wars Roleplaying Game. If it did, Ambidexterity, Two-Weapon Fighting, and Improved Two-Weapon Fighting would be the nobrainer feats of the game, and all soldier heroes would look alike. Think about it this way: Using the multifire option of blasters is a full- round action. So is using the Force skill Affect Mind. Can you use both during the same round? One application uses your hand, the other your head. Those are two separate things, right? So why can’t you use both at the same time? Because you can take only one full round action in any given round. We built that into the d20 system to keep things from getting out of control. (SW Gamer #8, p.14)

His rationale is incorrect, for the record, though his ruling might not be. I'd have to check the book. :)

EDIT: Additionally, this is the correct place to ask SWd20 rules questions.
 
Last edited:

Ok, so in this situation, the full round attack would be as follows.

primary hand (-6/-6), off hand (-2)

What happens when you start adding attacks because of BAB? Would you get (-6/-6/-6/-6) or can you only multishot once per round (-6/-6/0)?
 

Take it from the top.

You've got a character who has a ranged attack modifier of +0.

He can make a single shot at +0.

Alternatively, he can put a second blaster in his off-hand, and make one additional shot. All attacks this round take a -2 penalty. So, P: -2; O: -2

Then, he can set his blaster to multifire. This grants him an additional attack with his main hand, and all attacks this round suffer a -4 penalty. So, P: -6 / -6; O: -6

Then, if he's got the Rapid Shot feat, he can use that for an additional attack, as well. All attacks this round suffer a -2 penalty. So, P: -8 / -8 / -8; O: -8

Let's assume he's got a +6 BAB, and therefore could normally make 2 attacks in a full attack action: P: +6 / +1

With an off-hand weapon: P: +4 / -1; O: +4

With an off-hand weapon and multishot: P: +0 / +0 / -5; O: +0

With an off-hand weapon, multishot, and Rapid Shot: P: -2 / -2 / -2 / -7; O: -2

Make more sense? :)
 

Makes perfect sense now. The part that was hanging me up was the fact that all attacks in the round received the penalty. Thanks guys
 
Last edited:

Patryn's got it, though keep in mind that all of his calculations are based on the character in question being assumed to have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat.
 

Remove ads

Top