Eldritch Chain and Sneak Attack?

I would say no. A sneak attack is carefully targeting a weak point to cause maximum carnage. It requires careful aim so it can only be used on the first attack in various barrage type skills and spells like has already been said. This is one of those times when common sense is usually pushed aside by sticking to unclear rules. But to each their own. :D
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say no.

FAQ:

Can you use Manyshot with a sneak attack? If so, do all the arrows deal sneak attack damage?

You can sneak attack with Manyshot. If you do, only one arrow in the volley deals sneak attack damage.



Rules of the Game "All About Sneak Attacks"

Volley Type Attacks

Sometimes, you make multiple attacks with the same attack roll, such as when you use the Manyshot feat, or you make multiple attack rolls as part of the same attack, such as with the scorching ray spell. When you do so, only the first attack in the volley can be a sneak attack
 


True but a chain is not a volley. Volleys can all be directed at the same target, chains explicitly cannot.

Barring something explicit ruling that links chained ranged touch spells to volleys or that addresses chained spells/SLAs, I think it is a GM call, with both directions being equally valid.

I personally would allow it but I would strictly enforce the 30' distance to target limitation on sneak attack.
 

kigmatzomat said:
True but a chain is not a volley. Volleys can all be directed at the same target, chains explicitly cannot.


I think that the Rules of the Game explanation is broad enough to not limit it to only attacks that affect single creatures.
 

My 'rule of thumb' for determining if something's a volley or not depends on the timing of target assignation.

With separate attacks, I can observe the result of the first attack before determining the target for the second.

With Manyshot, I can't - the targets are all determined (and in Manyshot's case, all the same) before I roll any dice. With Scorching Ray, likewise - I can aim all my rays at one, or at multiple opponents, but I decide all targets before I begin. With 3E shuriken, there might be three attack rolls, but again, the target is allocated for all three before the first is thrown.

With Eldritch Chain, I select multiple targets; as with any other spell (or spell-like ability), targets are determined when the spell comes into effect. So before my blast departs, it already has its itinerary programmed in - target A, followed by B, C, and D in order.

For that reason, I'd consider it a volley. If it contained explicit language allowing on to determine the second target after observing the outcome of the attack on the first target, I might change my mind.

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top