Group Sneak Attack


log in or register to remove this ad

I guess so, assuming all the affected foes meet the requirements (grant you combat advantage, damage is dealt using the required rogue weapons). So if you could somehow flank 4 foes simultaneously, then yeah, dance of death would deal SA to all of them.
 

If using a blast or burst can Sneak Attack be applied to each creature that was hit?
No. Sneak Attack only applies once per round, pg 117 1st sentence. If you're assuming that you can apply it to multiple targets because Blast/Burst requires a single roll then you're trying too hard for the bonus while ignoring the rule of Sneak Attack itself. It explicitly says it applies to an enemy, singular.

The only way you can use SA multiple times is to use a Wraith Blade and score a critical hit. It didn't take long for Dragon magazine to introduce Cheez :hmm:
 

I was just wondering if there had been a common consensus on the topic, I'm kinda learning toward "saying yes, why the heck not".

There is said to be one damage roll; the Sneak Attack would be applied to that. It would be reaching to say that "enemy" can be plural as in "the enemy before us" but it wouldn't be reaching to point out that for wording burst powers phrase their "hit" descriptions in the singular "and the target isimmobilized until the end of your next turn."
 

The single roll doesn't apply to SA because, again under SA, it applies - after making the damage roll. Therefore, it's exempt from the Blast/Burst damage roll because it's not a Blast/Burst damage roll. Nor is it rolled with the Blast/Burst damage roll. SA is its own rule. It only ever states applying to a single enemy (can't use it against allies). It also only applies once per round, not per attack.
 



Or house rule it to go with your gut?

Our house rule was that anything that is blast or burst is a single attack that the rogue can choose to include his/her SA damage in. But, for things that would have multiple attack rolls the SA damage would only be applied once.
This carries into Hunter's Quarry and Warlock's Curse (because why then would you place multiple curses or quarries?). I know it might nor carry over very well to other groups, but if someone feels good about AoE sneak attacks go with it.

(Yeah, I know... warlock's pact triggers when a cursed enemy falls etc. But, I think it's good. Also consider, if the rules DID work this way, would it feel broken and be rejected immediately?)
 

This carries into Hunter's Quarry and Warlock's Curse (because why then would you place multiple curses or quarries?). I know it might nor carry over very well to other groups, but if someone feels good about AoE sneak attacks go with it.

Well, no. You can never have more than one Hunter's Quarry at the same time, and you can only apply the damage once per round.

The Warlock's Curse, on the other hand, has no such restrictions. You can have several enemies cursed, and there is no limit on how many times per round you can apply the extra damage.
 

The Warlock's Curse, on the other hand, has no such restrictions. You can have several enemies cursed, and there is no limit on how many times per round you can apply the extra damage.

You can have several enemies cursed at the same time, but you can still only apply the extra damage once per round.

Warlock's Curse
Once per turn as a minor action... decide whether to apply the extra damage after making the damage roll. You can deal this extra damage once per round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top