Tazawa
Adventurer
ThirdWizard said:Isn't a centaur large?
Umm, yes he is. Apparently I'm the fallible one here. But the hoof attacks should still be at the same bonus as the final flurry attack: +8/+8/+3 flurry, +3/+3 hooves.
ThirdWizard said:Isn't a centaur large?
Plane Sailing said:Interesting idea... My Monk character (4th) uses a glaive for 10ft reach and unarmed kicks when within 5ft of a foe.
Presumably he could, should he so choose, get TWF and use his kicks as his primary flurrying weapons and take his "off hand" attack with the glaive, with all attacks being at -4 because the "off hand" weapon is not a light weapon? It is a heck of a penalty but it could make for interesting "kung-fu-like" scenes![]()
How I understand it... if the creature can make an ordinary full-attack action with a normal weapon and also use natural attacks, then the same creature could use flurry of blows (if a monk) with a monk weapon and also use natural attacks. In your case, if the druid could pick up a shortsword or another weapon and full-attack with it and also get natural attacks in, then there is no reason why they wouldn't also be able to get the natural attacks in after a flurry of blows.Feyd Rautha said:Here's a stumper... what about a druid/monk in wildshape. The second question about natural attacks would lead one to believe that if the creature cannot normally make weapon attacks it cannot use unarmed strikes and natural attacks at the same time.
So you're sticking with the interpretation that FoB and TWF do not stack, correct?drunkmoogle said:My thoughts on the matter:
A monk using FoB must use unarmed strike or special monk weapons ONLY for that round. Meaning that the other attack granted by TWF must fall within those FoB paramaters and natural weapons cannot be used.
The FAQ directly contradicts me, and thus sucks. I'll be sticking with my interpretation for now.
Ranger REG said:So you're sticking with the interpretation that FoB and TWF do not stack, correct?
Well, the way I see it, the extra off-hand attack is separate from the extra FoB attack. So if you intend to use two fists (or whatever combination of two body parts to make unarmed strikes), The off-hand fist strike only do half-Str bonus to damage, that is in addition to a FoB fist strike that will do full-Str bonus to damage. IOW, a 1st-level monk can make three fist attacks: 1 from primary hand (BAB), one from FoB, and one from off hand (apply half-Str bonus to damage).Hypersmurf said:It hinges on your interpretation of 'as part of a flurry of blows'.
Drunkmoogle (and me, as it happens) considers off-hand attacks, haste attacks, Rapid Shot attacks, etc, etc to be 'part of a flurry of blows' if they occur in the same full attack action as your extra flurry attacks.
Andy Collins obviously doesn't consider such extra attacks to be 'part of a flurry of blows', or hoof attacks would be prohibited.