Odd but legal?

Kmart Kommando said:
On the other hand, literally, manipulating an object is generally a move action, so unless you're a psionic class with Hustle, getting a move action in the middle of a full attack isn't easy.

I don't think even Hustle would let you take a Move action in the middle of a Full Attack action.

No Quickdraw, you're stuck throwing darts and shuriken.

Darts are a move action to draw without the Quick Draw feat; they're not treated as ammunition like shuriken.

You can start a turn with handaxe A and handaxe B, and take 2 melee hits on target C with handaxe A, throw handaxe A at target D, take 2 melee attacks on target E, and throw handaxe B at target D, provided you (1)have enough attacks allocated to you, (2)take all of the penalties associated with each situation that granted those attacks, (4)make all allocated attacks with the corresponding weapons, and (5)make all of your attacks in order, from highest bonus to lowest bonus.

Well, it's only multiple attacks gained from a high BAB that are required to be in order from highest bonus to lowest.

From the Latest FAQ:

I'm curious as to what action the author of that answer would deem it to take up the axe in two hands once more. For example, if the character had a third iterative attack, could he make it with his axe after throwing the javelin?

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
I don't think even Hustle would let you take a Move action in the middle of a Full Attack action.
yes, you certainly can. you can take you swift action any time during your round you want to, such as attacking 2 times, casting Quickened Truestrike, and attacking a third time. A Marshall ready an action to give everyone a move action before one or more of your attacks. A Warblade could attack a foe with a full attack, kill him early, use Sudden Leap to jump some distance as a swift action, and continue his full attack on someone else. It's no different than taking a 5ft step before, between, or after attacks in your full attack. They just haven't put the Swift Action into the SRD, but everyone who uses them knows what they can and can't do with one.


Darts are a move action to draw without the Quick Draw feat; they're not treated as ammunition like shuriken.
ok, so darts really do suck


Well, it's only multiple attacks gained from a high BAB that are required to be in order from highest bonus to lowest.
and the extra attacks gained for the offhand mimic the main hand



I'm curious as to what action the author of that answer would deem it to take up the axe in two hands once more. For example, if the character had a third iterative attack, could he make it with his axe after throwing the javelin?

-Hyp.
likely less of an action than juggling a weapon to pretend it is 2 weapons to gain extra attacks.
 

Kmart Kommando said:
yes, you certainly can. you can take you swift action any time during your round you want to...

My mistake - I think I was recalling the 3E PsiHB version of Hustle, which granted an extra move action next round.

Though I think there's still potential for interpretation over 3.5 Hustle. You manifested the power as a swift action, and it allows you to make an additional move action in the current round... but it specifies 'in the current round', not immediately. A free action (and therefore a swift action) can explicitly be taken while taking another action normally. A move action can't - I can take a move action before or after a standard action, but not during a standard action, for example. Likewise, I can take a standard action before or after a move action, but not during the move action - otherwise feats like Shot on the Run would be pointless.

Hustle, manifested as a swift action, allows me to take an additional move action in the current round... but it doesn't state I can take an additional move action while taking another action normally.

It's no different than taking a 5ft step before, between, or after attacks in your full attack. They just haven't put the Swift Action into the SRD, but everyone who uses them knows what they can and can't do with one.

It's different, since 5' step can explicitly occur during another action, as can a free action (and therefore a swift action)... but not a move action.

and the extra attacks gained for the offhand mimic the main hand

They have similar bonuses, but they are not multiple attacks because your BAB is high enough; they are multiple attacks because a/ you are wielding a second weapon in your off-hand, or b/ you have a feat (ITWF, GTWF, etc). Just as Haste or Rapid Shot allow you multiple attacks, but not multiple attacks because your BAB is high enough.

likely less of an action than juggling a weapon to pretend it is 2 weapons to gain extra attacks.

Just that it's the same FAQ that says switching hands is a move action. If it allows removing a hand as a free action (implicit in the answer you quoted), and also allows putting a second hand on a weapon as a free action (hence my question), then you could switch hands as two free actions, rather than one move action.

-Hyp.
 


Hypersmurf said:
Just that it's the same FAQ that says switching hands is a move action. If it allows removing a hand as a free action (implicit in the answer you quoted), and also allows putting a second hand on a weapon as a free action (hence my question), then you could switch hands as two free actions, rather than one move action.

-Hyp.

The action of putting a weapon into a hand in order to wield it is called drawing a weapon andf it is and a move action (feats may help reduce this etc). The action does not state where you draw it from - in this case you drew it from the other hand. Claiming that you are using two free actions to accomplish this does not change the meaning of the action.

As an example where the breakdown of an action is not the same as the total action: Speaking is a free action. Casting a spell with a verbal only component only requires a character to speak. It is still a standard action to cast a verbal only spell which has a casting time of 1 standard action. It is not a free action, even though it only involvs speach.
 

Veril said:
The action of putting a weapon into a hand in order to wield it is called drawing a weapon andf it is and a move action (feats may help reduce this etc). The action does not state where you draw it from - in this case you drew it from the other hand. Claiming that you are using two free actions to accomplish this does not change the meaning of the action.

Let's say a DM introduces two actions that are missing from the actions table - kneel from prone, and stand from kneeling. He calls them both move actions that do not provoke an AoO.

Standing from prone is a move action that provokes an AoO.

If, on his turn, a prone character kneels and then stands, how many move actions have been expended? Has an AoO been provoked?

-Hyp.
 

Well, then, why don't we just introduce a feat, called Juggle Weapon Fighting, which lets you juggle a weapon and pretend it is two weapons?

If we're going to make stuff up, why don't we just go for the gold?
 

Kmart Kommando said:
If we're going to make stuff up, why don't we just go for the gold?

The kneeling condition exists, with bonuses and penalties to AC defined. But how do you get there?

There's a stand from prone action. There's a drop prone action. What action is it to achieve the kneeling condition?

-Hyp.
 



Remove ads

Top