Polymorph bigger versions of creatures?

RUMBLETiGER

Adventurer
Not that I'm trying to abuse an already powerful spell, (Ok, I am...) But Polymorph allows you to change into the form of a creature, limited only by HD and the other details in the text.

Now, nearly every creature in any MM and other texts has the base stats for each creature, plus a HD progression at the end of the stat block for making stronger and often times, larger sized versions.

Assuming being the correct HD equivalent, could a caster or the caster's target Polymorph to a more-than-standard-HD version of a monster?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Then you might as well allow polymorph into forms with higher Strength than listed, since the listed numbers are just averages and there are individuals with higher abilities.
 


Assuming being the correct HD equivalent, could a caster or the caster's target Polymorph to a more-than-standard-HD version of a monster?

From the official FAQ:

Can you become advanced versions of creatures with
polymorph* (PH 263), or just the most basic as presented in
the MM?

The rules don’t explicitly prevent this,
but for speed of play
(and reasons of sanity) it’s entirely reasonable for a DM to
disallow any forms other than those detailed in the MM (or
other allowed volumes of monsters). If the DM chooses to
allow advanced creatures, the player must supply full statistics
for the advanced version before play begins. Remember that
the Hit Die limit for the various polymorph spells still applies
(a 7th-level wizard can’t use polymorph to assume the form of
a 10-HD advanced sahuagin).
*The question and answer uses “polymorph” to refer
specifically to spells that rely on the polymorph or alter self
spell to adjudicate their effect (including alter self, polymorph,
polymorph any object, and shapechange), psionic powers based
on the metamorphosis power (including metamorphosis and
greater metamorphosis), and any other effect based on either of
these lists.
 

No, you only get the standard version of the monster.
Is this stated by RAW, or simply DM common sense?
How about Dragons specifically, which are statted out HD by age/size? When one Polymorphs into a Dragon, do they not choose a HD size at the max they can reash as per their own HD and the bounds of the spell?

EDIT: I didn't see @Iku Rex's post when I was writing this. Thank you Iku Rex, you've answered my question!
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top