This has happened to me a couple times now. As my character closes into melee with a kobold, they shift away. Unless I'm missing something the only thing that they have that can let them shift is their shifty power right? But the shifty power requires a minor action and so can only be used on their turns yes? Or am I missing something? There isn't any errata on the power so it works just like its printed in the MM right? I just want to know so I can take that extra movement into account the next time I face them in combat.