Sneak Attack & Spells Question

Spatula

Explorer
A sorcerer / rogue casts greater invisibility on himself and then casts scorching ray (3 rays per casting) at a target within 30 ft. Assuming all three rays hit, do they all count as sneak attacks?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Is the opponent flat-footed/helpless/etc.?

Scorching ray requires an attack roll, so, like all other attacks, if each one hits the opponent while the conditions for a Sneak Attack are valid, then they are all Sneak Attacks.
 

I don't have the book in front of me, but Complete Arcane clarifies the interactions of Sneak Attack and spells. I believe the ruling is that you can add sneak attack damage to only one spell attack per round. Perhaps someone with the book can confirm or correct.
 

From the Rules of the Game:
"Sometimes, you make multiple attacks with the same attack roll, such as when you use the Manyshot feat, or you make multiple attack rolls as part of the same attack, such as with the scorching ray spell. When you do so, only the first attack in the volley can be a sneak attack. "
 
Last edited:

MarkB said:
I don't have the book in front of me, but Complete Arcane clarifies the interactions of Sneak Attack and spells. I believe the ruling is that you can add sneak attack damage to only one spell attack per round. Perhaps someone with the book can confirm or correct.

From memory, Scorching Ray is used as the example spell in Complete Arcane of a spell that only applies SA damage once.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top