Two questions

kolikeos

First Post
The description of 'Spell turning' gives inflict critical wounds as an example of a spell that can't be affected by it, even though inflict spells are all melee touch, then it goes on to contredict itself by saying that inflict is affected by the spell... So which is it?

When a character has been swollowd whole and is cutting his/her way out, does the creature take damage or is its gut treated as a seperate thing for damage/HP?

Thanks in advance.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Spell turning affects any spells or spell like effects that have 'you' as the target that are not touch spells. So it would work on Kelgore's Fire Bolt, but not on Shocking Grasp...Hold Person, but not Fireball or Lightning Bolt. Inflict is touch, and Mass Inflict is AoE, so neither should not be affected by Spell Turning (that description isn't in the SRD I can see)
It's a pretty big spell, for such a limited application.

I would think that "touch range" would also exclude Ranged Touch spells, but the description doesn't clearly say.



I subtract the damage dealt to the gizzard from the monster's HP total.
 

werk said:
I would think that "touch range" would also exclude Ranged Touch spells, but the description doesn't clearly say.

No, it wouldn't - a spell with a range of Touch that uses a ranged touch attack would be rather pointless.

On the other hand, most spells that require ranged touch attacks have Effects, not Targets, and thus won't be turned.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
No, it wouldn't - a spell with a range of Touch that uses a ranged touch attack would be rather pointless.

On the other hand, most spells that require ranged touch attacks have Effects, not Targets, and thus won't be turned.

-Hyp.

THAT'S what it means by "Effect and area spells are not affected" I thought it was a typo for Area of Effect, lol.

So, Scorching Ray, is ranged touch but is considered an effect, so no go.
Magic Missile, isn't an effect and isn't touch, so good to go...same with Chain Lightning.

Enervation. Ranged touch, not an effect.


It doesn't really make sense to me, in a 'big picture' sort of way, but letter of the law is good enough I guess.
 



werk said:
Inflict is touch, and Mass Inflict is AoE, so neither should not be affected by Spell Turning (that description isn't in the SRD I can see)
Mass Inflict has "target: one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart", not "area: 15 ft. radius[burst|spread]", so it isn't an AoE. If you are one of the targets, and you have spell turning up, I'd think that the spell would be turned. Whether that should affect only "your" part of the spell or the whole spell (none of the original targets take damage, caster takes damage [or healing if he is undead]), I'm not sure.
 

kolikeos said:
The description of 'Spell turning' gives inflict critical wounds as an example of a spell that can't be affected by it, even though inflict spells are all melee touch, then it goes on to contredict itself by saying that inflict is affected by the spell... So which is it?

From the PHB errata:

errata said:
Spell Turning
Player's Handbook, page 282
The example used in the spell description is incorrect,
because it makes use of a touch-range spell (inflict
critical wounds).
In the fourth paragraph of the spell description, change
the text to read as follows: “. . . targeted by a magic
missile spell heightened to 4th level, you would turn . . .”

kolikeos said:
When a character has been swollowd whole and is cutting his/her way out, does the creature take damage or is its gut treated as a seperate thing for damage/HP?

Thanks in advance.

From the SRD:

SRD said:
Swallow Whole

If a creature with this special attack begins its turn with an opponent held in its mouth (see Improved Grab), it can attempt a new grapple check (as though attempting to pin the opponent). If it succeeds, it swallows its prey, and the opponent takes bite damage. Unless otherwise noted, the opponent can be up to one size category smaller than the swallowing creature. Being swallowed has various consequences, depending on the creature doing the swallowing. A swallowed creature is considered to be grappled, while the creature that did the swallowing is not. A swallowed creature can try to cut its way free with any light slashing or piercing weapon (the amount of cutting damage required to get free is noted in the creature description), or it can just try to escape the grapple. The Armor Class of the interior of a creature that swallows whole is normally 10 + ½ its natural armor bonus, with no modifiers for size or Dexterity. If the swallowed creature escapes the grapple, success puts it back in the attacker’s mouth, where it may be bitten or swallowed again.

There is nothing that distinguishes the damage dealt to the creature's interior from it's exterior. Therefore, I would subtract said damage from it's total hit points. Hope this helped.

Either way...just my 2 cp
 

werk said:
I don't want to play anymore :(



(Spell Turning's description keeps making more and more sense though.)
The way I visualise Spell Turning is that it's a sort of magical ECM - effectively, it interferes with an incoming spell's guidance by overwriting its 'target' entry with its 'caster' entry.

Ranged touch spells are 'dumbfire' spells - like bullets or unguided rockets - so they have no in-flight guidance for Spell Turning to affect.
 

Yeah, the problem was that I didn't have it in my head that rays are effects. Burst, spread, line...sure, but rays? Oh well, now I got it!

'Effects' is a bit overused as a term if you ask me :p

Still, a bit of a misnomer on Spell Turning.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top