Warlock (CA), Eldritch Blast, and being grappled

trentonjoe

Explorer
Okay, last night I was running a Warlock bad guy and a PC tried to grapple him. I kinda ruled that the warlock was not "unarmed" and he could do the eldritch blast thing on the grappler since it provokes an attack of oppurtunity.

Upon reflection I think this isn't right, exactly.

Any thoughts? Did I break the rules as written? What about the spirit of the rules?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm not sure I undestand the question. If the warlock is otherwise unarmed, having Eldritch Blast will not make him armed. In fact the EB can never be used in an AoO. It is just like a spell in this sense.
 

Yep, EB cannot be used as an AoO or let one be considerd armed.

I think there's a feat that does something like that, tho. ;)

Bye
Thanee
 

brehobit said:
If the warlock is otherwise unarmed, having Eldritch Blast will not make him armed. In fact the EB can never be used in an AoO.

That is what I was asking.... seems to me that a warlock should be considered "ALWAYS" armed. Kinda like a monk.
 




trentonjoe said:
seems to me that a warlock should be considered "ALWAYS" armed. Kinda like a monk.
Except a Monk is using an unarmed attack.

The Warlock is using a Spell-like ability, which is a standard action that provokes AoOs.

They are NOT similar. Not even close.
 

Nail said:
Except a Monk is using an unarmed attack.

The Warlock is using a Spell-like ability, which is a standard action that provokes AoOs.

They are NOT similar. Not even close.

Could a warlock use that invocation that channels the blast into a melee attack and then hold the charge? Don't have any of my books in front of me.
 

fafhrd said:
Could a warlock use that invocation that channels the blast into a melee attack and then hold the charge? Don't have any of my books in front of me.

No, because he's not casting a spell and then holding the charge. Hideous Blow is a Standard Action to use- no ifs, ands, or buts about it. If he doesn't have a Standard Action, he can't use Hideous Blow. This applies to Eldritch Blast as well- it doesn't threaten an area (like all ranged weapons).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top