X4: Master of the Desert Nomads - IC

kinem said:
The wyvern seems unaffected by Bevin's spell.
[sblock=Leif]Nothing personal, they just keep rolling high![/sblock]
OOC: Yeah. Uh-huh. Sure, boss. :) At least I've got some time to figure out what spell to have fail next! hehe.

OOC: Say, you know what? I forgot to roll Bevin's ASF anyway, so I guess it's good that the spell failed. Ooops.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Girgal, AC 25 (T15, FF22), HP 41/59, F +11,R+8,W+13

kinem said:
[sblock=Jemal]Nargon can't quite move 40' forward as he is also moving diagonally and up.[/sblock]

The trolls, now free, charge forward as well. The one nearer the river moves faster than the other, and flanks the dinosaur-riding druid, mauling him a bit with its claw. The other troll charges forward as well and likewise scratches up the halfling spellcaster.

(ooc: Girgal takes 18 total damage.)

[sblock=tactical map]
Code:
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~............M...
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~......TT........
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~......TTWW......
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~........WW......
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~....TT.g........
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~....TT...N......
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~....A...........
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrrr...............
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrLr....R..........
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrrr..B............
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrrr...............
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................


N = Nargon	B = Bevin	A = Aram	
g = Girgal and Ripclaw		R = Rajah and Bones

WW
WW = wyvern

M = man who was riding the wyvern

TT
TT = troll

rrrr
rrLr
rrrr = raft; L = lean-to
rrrr

~~~ = the river
[/sblock]

ooc: PCS to act

ooc: can you give me the exact positions of the enemies, please. There is nobody on the map who flanks Girgal. Also, is the Wyvern flying or earthbound? How far is the rider on the Wyvern away from Girgal/Ripcla?
 

ooc - whoops, sorry about that kinem, I'll just use those attack rolls next round, if the trolls move will you allow me to alter where my skeletons are summoned? I'm not to familiar with summoning spells/wizards in general.
 

Aram moves forward, dropping his bow as his scimitars spring into his hands. He goes on the defensive as he moves to engage the troll, weary of the giant's reach and deadly claws.


AC 31, HP 56/56, WIS 09/10
Move to left side of nearest troll (hopefully Girgal will move this round to help Aram flank), total defense: +6 to AC
 
Last edited:

Walking Dad said:
ooc: can you give me the exact positions of the enemies, please. There is nobody on the map who flanks Girgal. Also, is the Wyvern flying or earthbound? How far is the rider on the Wyvern away from Girgal/Ripcla?


Not to step in and be rules lawyer, but the nearest troll and the wyvern are in flanking positions on Girgal, per the map. You can trace a line between the two of them through opposite corners of Girgal's square.
 

Walking Dad said:
ooc: can you give me the exact positions of the enemies, please. There is nobody on the map who flanks Girgal. Also, is the Wyvern flying or earthbound? How far is the rider on the Wyvern away from Girgal/Ripcla?

ooc: The map represents the 'exact' (within D&D rules) positions of the enemies.

Edit: I thought the southwestern troll flanked Girgal with help from the wyvern, based on the troll's souteastern square and the wyvern center. Actually you're right, it technically doesn't.

From the SRD:
http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/combatModifiers.htm#flanking

"When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by a character or creature friendly to you on the opponent’s opposite border or opposite corner.

When in doubt about whether two friendly characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two friendly characters’ centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent’s space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.

Exception: If a flanker takes up more than 1 square, it gets the flanking bonus if any square it occupies counts for flanking."

Apparently a creature does have to be adjacent (within 5') to you to help grant a flanking bonus, but that is not the case when it comes to recieving the flanking bonus.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I checked it out using graph paper, and while the line passes through Girgal's square, it's not through opposite borders.

In any case, the troll hit Girgal.

The wyvern is on the ground.

The rider dismounted and is the 'M' to the northeast, about 40' total distance from Girgal.

PCs still to act: Girgal/Ripclaw, Nargon, Aram
 
Last edited:



[sblock=tactical map]
Code:
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~............M...
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~......TT........
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~......TTWW......
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~........WW......
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~....TT.g........
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~..A.TT...N......
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~...B.R..........
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrrr...............
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrLr...............
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrrr...............
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~rrrr...............
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................
..~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~................


N = Nargon	B = Bevin	A = Aram	
g = Girgal and Ripclaw		R = Rajah and Bones

WW
WW = wyvern

M = man who was riding the wyvern

TT
TT = troll

rrrr
rrLr
rrrr = raft; L = lean-to
rrrr

~~~ = the river
[/sblock]

ooc: Still to act: Nargon, Girgal/Ripclaw
 

OOC: Rhun, you are taking Bevin's Heroism spell into account for Aram, aren't you? (See post 231). I'd hate to think that NOTHING poor Bevin was doing was helping at all!
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top