Throwing Initiative


log in or register to remove this ad

That example and tons of places in the DMG speak to awarness and not actual combat.
That example doesn't, as I just showed you. If you'd like to point to others, I'd be happy to explain to you how they should be understood in context.

The bottom line is: if you want to pick apart the rules, take them out of context, and interpret them in the least (rather than the most) sensible possible way, no one can stop you. But if you actually want to learn something and improve your DMing skills, we can help you do that.
 

That example doesn't, as I just showed you.

Well, it does, at least for two rounds, and the implication is that it could be more rounds but only two were used for the example. Two should be enough, anyway.

But, really, we can stop debating this. What you've said doesn't jive with what I'm reading in the book. And, it doesn't look like I'm going to change your opinion. So, what were really doing here is arguing interpretation of what is written.

That could go on and on.

Let's just drop this and agree to disagree.
 

Water Bob,

I believe you have a misconception here.

Unlike previous editions the DMG is not the overuling book. There are clear orders of rules precedents and which book covers which rules.

The section in the DMG contains no rules - it only contains suggestions/guidelines for how the DM uses the rules (specifically ajudicating them). The chapter is entitled "Using the Rules"

The rules governing Combat are contained in the PHB section 8.

The PHB and the DMG states that the DM determines when combat begins. That is one of the main concepts here. The DMG provides guidance for how the DM can do this and how to handle certain (perhaps not very clear) situations.

The only things the DMG that are the governing rules are:

Magic items and magic item creation.

XP awards.

Everything else are tools for the DM to use.
 

Well, it does, at least for two rounds, and the implication is that it could be more rounds but only two were used for the example. Two should be enough, anyway.

Water Bob, I think you missed in the example that Initiative is rolled just prior to Round 3. There is no Initiative tracking for Rounds 1 and 2.

I think one of the confusing elements of this discussion is that the DM and players can begin measuring time and actions in Rounds, but Initiative has not been rolled, and combat has not begun.
 


Because while the order of actions may not yet have become important, measuring the amount of time elapsed has. For example, spells have been cast, and many times spells have durations measured in rounds.
 

Remove ads

Top