2 weapon fighting

Caeleddin said:
Hyp - No. What he is saying is for a HG to use a d12 base item two sizes larger in two hands. That is 4d6 damage at -2 to-hit.

No, he's saying a half-giant with the Wield Oversized Weapon epic feat uses a d12 item three sizes larger in two hands. His error is in thinking he can take an Epic feat at level 1, or in thinking that Monkey Grip allows the combination (which it doesn't). In fact, the ECL2 half-giant can't even wield the Huge Warmace in two hands, since Powerful Build only applies to Large weapons, not to Huge ones.

But regardless, a Gargantuan Warmace deals 6d6, which is what he said.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hyp- Powerful Build allows you to wield weapons AS THOUGH you are 1 size bigger, unless I am mistaken. That means he can wield a Large Warmace in 1 hand as a 3d6 weapon, or a Huge warmace in 2 hands (at -2 to hit) as a 4d6 weapon. Gargantuan (the next size up which he cannot use) is 5d6, unless I am mistaken. Not 6d6.
 

Caeleddin said:
Hyp- Powerful Build allows you to wield weapons AS THOUGH you are 1 size bigger, unless I am mistaken.

You're mistaken. It allows you to wield weapons designed for a creature one size larger.

A half-giant can use weapons designed for a creature one size larger without penalty.

A Large warmace is designed for a creature one size larger. Powerful Build applies.

A Huge warmace is designed for a creature two sizes larger. Powerful Build doesn't apply, and therefore it is too large for the Medium half-giant to wield.

Gargantuan (the next size up which he cannot use) is 5d6, unless I am mistaken. Not 6d6.

You're mistaken. See Improved Natural Attack in the Monster Manual for an example:

IMPROVED NATURAL ATTACK [GENERAL]
Prerequisite: Natural weapon, base attack bonus +4.

Benefit: Choose one of the creature’s natural attack forms. The damage for this natural weapon increases by one step, as if the creature’s size had increased by one category: 1d2, 1d3, 1d4, 1d6, 1d8, 2d6, 3d6, 4d6, 6d6, 8d6, 12d6.


-Hyp.
 

Hmm... Ok, then. It seems that I have a wrong impression of PB.

The progression of the damage rolls is not in line with the claws psi power. Wierd....
 

Caeleddin said:
Hmm... Ok, then. It seems that I have a wrong impression of PB.

Powerful Build is badly written, anyway.

The progression of the damage rolls is not in line with the claws psi power. Wierd....

Well, the power just says "You create larger claws", not "You create claws that deal damage as if they were a size larger", or anything like that.

-Hyp.
 



Blame my up-bringing. They drilled "I before E except after C" into me from age 6. It means I keep missing out the exceptions that proves the rule.
 



Remove ads

Top