Are the Grappled Crippled?

Grundle

First Post
What can the poor grappled spellcaster do?

The PHB indicates only three things:
(1) grapple out of the grapple (yeah, right)
(2) use a light weapon against the grappler.
(3) cast non-somatic component spell with material components already in hand when the grapple started. Must make Concentration check DC 20+spell level to succeed.

The D&D FAQ indicates that
(4) A spell caster can take a full-round action to retrieve material components while grappled (subject to AoO's from enemies not grappling him, I believe)

Is it me or does this list have some BIG holes in it? What about
(a) Using a spell completion item like a wand? If the wand is already in hand, a spellcaster would merely have to speak the command-word to use the wand. Is it possible to use a wand when grappled? When pinned? Would this draw AoO or require concentration checks - (using a wand normally doesn't)?
(b) What about using other magical items like a potion? Dust of disappearance, etc., etc., etc?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad




Zhure said:
or a Stilled Grease. Cast on yourself, choose to fail your save, squirt out like a watermelon seed.

No can do King-O-Sabe...
Grease as a material component. Unless you happen to have it in your hand or take a full-round just to retrieve it, you aren't casting a stilled Grease.
 


Technically speaking, you're not allowed to do anything while grappled except what's listed in the PHB. So no activating magic items, for instance. However, our group allows it in our campaigns; being grappled often really sucks, and having wizzes be the only ones who can teleport out seems a bit unfair.
 


Grundle said:


No can do King-O-Sabe...
Grease as a material component. Unless you happen to have it in your hand or take a full-round just to retrieve it, you aren't casting a stilled Grease.

That's why you either have the no material component feat or a glove of storage with the material component needed for grease ;)
 


Remove ads

Top