HP Dreadnought
First Post
This is ridiculous.
There is not even any ambiguity in the rules here.
As others have pointed out, wield means "to use." Wield does NOT mean 'to hold'. If you actually know what the word means, there is no question at all. If you don't then I suggest you look up words you don't know, its how you learn.
If you must use something to gain an ability, YOU MUST USE IT!! Not simply hold it in an off hand while you use something else.
The ONLY situation I can see coming up is if you are USING the item in question, at the same time as you are USING another item. But the only case this would be an issue is with ranger TWF AFAIK, and I don't think there are any problems that crop up with that.
Normal TWF you are not USING both weapons. You attack with one or the other. If you want the bonus from a power, you have to attack with the weapon that grants the power. . . i.e. 'wield' it.
There is not even any ambiguity in the rules here.
As others have pointed out, wield means "to use." Wield does NOT mean 'to hold'. If you actually know what the word means, there is no question at all. If you don't then I suggest you look up words you don't know, its how you learn.
If you must use something to gain an ability, YOU MUST USE IT!! Not simply hold it in an off hand while you use something else.
The ONLY situation I can see coming up is if you are USING the item in question, at the same time as you are USING another item. But the only case this would be an issue is with ranger TWF AFAIK, and I don't think there are any problems that crop up with that.
Normal TWF you are not USING both weapons. You attack with one or the other. If you want the bonus from a power, you have to attack with the weapon that grants the power. . . i.e. 'wield' it.