Spirited Charge and Critical Hits???

Note, where this gets a bit wonky as well, is that a lance is not a two handed weapon, thus your power attack is only 1:1, not 1:2. But, that being said, there's nothing preventing you from using the lance two handed.

But, yes, this can be an insane build. I used it with a halfling mounted on a dog for a long time - very nasty since I'm only medium and I can fit indoors with no problems.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I use a sheild (might actually think about a buckler), that is what prevents me from two handing the lance, on a side note, I'm medium sized, monkey grip is a feat that allows me to wield a weapon 1 size category larger than myself, and balance is a DM approved enchantment with the same stacking affect. With no negative, (-2 from Monkey grip) sorry about that I meant huge, so I wield a huge lance (3D6) at a -2
 

You don't roll 9d6 and add modifiers.

You roll 3d6, add modifiers, then multiply that by 3 (or more correctly roll 3d6 three times, adding modifiers three times).

You don't multiply anything that is added as dice (like if it were a frost lance or sneak attack damage) but you do multiply anything added as plusses (like strength damage or magic weapon plusses).

Streamofthesky is incorrect that you do not multiply the base weapon damage.

Actions In Combat :: d20srd.org

A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together. Unless otherwise specified, the threat range for a critical hit on an attack roll is 20, and the multiplier is ×2.
Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon’s normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit.

And, yes, if you crit, with a x2 modifier, you just roll one more time (for a totaly of x4 damage on a crit and x3 damage without a crit).

So you regularly do (3d6+5)x3
on a crit you do (3d6+5)x4
 

P.S. I play 3.5 edition

P.S. yeah this feats overpowered with a cavalier knight, but it exists and i meet the needs, you should check it out, It's in the Master Wild

Masters of the Wild is a 3.0 book, not a 3.5 book.

The 3.5 version of Power Critical is just +4 to confirm critical hits, and it replaced the 3.0 version after the update. The auto-threat version of the feat also appeared in the 3.0 Deities and Demigods (out at the same time as Masters of the Wild), and was updated accordingly in the 3.5 SRD to +4 to confirm critical hits.

So by 3.5 rules, Power Critical from Masters of the Wild version should probably not be used unless the DM explicitly permits it.
 


Streamofthesky is incorrect that you do not multiply the base weapon damage.

Basically any bonus damage that's not some dice value multiplies, along with the weapon's base damage.

Your base weapon damage (3d6 or whatever it is for your lance) and any bonuses not expressed as damage dice (ie, +2d6 sneak attack or +1d6 flaming damage would not be multiplied; +12 from power attack or +9 from strength would be*) is multiplied on a critical hit.

Where did I say base weapon damage isn't multiplied? I recall saying repeatedly that it IS...
 

My apologies. I read:

Your base weapon damage (3d6 or whatever it is for your lance) and any bonuses not expressed as damage dice (ie, +2d6 sneak attack or +1d6 flaming damage would not be multiplied; +12 from power attack or +9 from strength would be*) is multiplied on a critical hit.

as

Your base weapon damage (3d6 or whatever it is for your lance) and any bonuses not expressed as damage dice ie, +2d6 sneak attack or +1d6 flaming damage would not be multiplied; +12 from power attack or +9 from strength would be* is multiplied on a critical hit.

Again, my apologies.
 

Masters of the Wild is a 3.0 book, not a 3.5 book.

The 3.5 version of Power Critical is just +4 to confirm critical hits, and it replaced the 3.0 version after the update. The auto-threat version of the feat also appeared in the 3.0 Deities and Demigods (out at the same time as Masters of the Wild), and was updated accordingly in the 3.5 SRD to +4 to confirm critical hits.

So by 3.5 rules, Power Critical from Masters of the Wild version should probably not be used unless the DM explicitly permits it.

it was approved :D
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top