D&D 5E Clarification about Two Weapon Fighting (PHB pg. 195)

painted_klown

First Post
Hello all,

I haven't played 5th edition for a long while now (sadly) and have decided to brush up on the rules a bit, just because I think it's fun to at least read the books, even if I can't play. In doing so, I was reading the combat rules again, and had an interesting thought in regards to two weapon fighting. This also raised a few questions for me, and I am hoping someone can confirm or clarify my thoughts.

Page 195 of the Player's Handbook is talking about gaining an extra attack if you are using two light weapons and you use the attack action in combat. I assume this does not matter what class you play as it doesn't seem to be tied to any specific class(es). So, I came up with an idea.

As Clerics are proficient with all simple weapons, I am thinking that I could arm him/her with two Handaxes and attack twice. First attack being (attack roll, assumed successful), then "1d6+STR modifier" and the second attack being (attack roll, assumed successful), then "1d6" only, with no STR modifier. Is that correct?

My second question also revolves around Handaxes (or any thrown weapon for that matter). If I Use my first attack to hit a goblin next to me and he goes down, and then I throw my second axe at another goblin (who doesn't go down) and that second goblin gets killed by the fighter on his/her (fighter's) turn, can I then go over to the dead goblin and retrieve my thrown axe?

If this is possible and done during combat, I would also guess that doing so would use my action?

Apologies for the silly questions, I just want to make sure I am understanding all of this correctly. :)
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Hello all,

I haven't played 5th edition for a long while now (sadly) and have decided to brush up on the rules a bit, just because I think it's fun to at least read the books, even if I can't play. In doing so, I was reading the combat rules again, and had an interesting thought in regards to two weapon fighting. This also raised a few questions for me, and I am hoping someone can confirm or clarify my thoughts.

Page 195 of the Player's Handbook is talking about gaining an extra attack if you are using two light weapons and you use the attack action in combat. I assume this does not matter what class you play as it doesn't seem to be tied to any specific class(es). So, I came up with an idea.

As Clerics are proficient with all simple weapons, I am thinking that I could arm him/her with two Handaxes and attack twice. First attack being (attack roll, assumed successful), then "1d6+STR modifier" and the second attack being (attack roll, assumed successful), then "1d6" only, with no STR modifier. Is that correct?

Yes.

Just note that you use your bonus action for the off-hand attack, and you may want to use it for something else from time to time, for example to cast Healing Word, or Spirtual Weapon. Bonus actions are not for granted, in the sense that it is not always that somebody can make use of them (sometimes no bonus actions are available). But they are also a limited resource as you can only ever use one bonus action per round.

My second question also revolves around Handaxes (or any thrown weapon for that matter). If I Use my first attack to hit a goblin next to me and he goes down, and then I throw my second axe at another goblin (who doesn't go down) and that second goblin gets killed by the fighter on his turn, can I then go over to the dead goblin and retrieve my thrown axe? If this is possible and done during combat, I would also guess that doing so would use my action?

It is possible. I don't even think it consumes an action most of the times, as you will just interact with a unattended object laying on the battlefield, and that could be understood simply as your free interaction, that you can have once per round.

Now, if the DM decides to describe the weapon as stuck in the foe's carcass, their armor or shield, then to retrieve it could require more effort, but I would not expect it to be the norm.

Also bear in mind you can always move between attacks, so you can down a foe and just proceed to the other and attack in the same turn, if you have enough movement left.

Apologies for the silly questions, I just want to make sure I am understanding all of this correctly. :)

Nothing silly, we are here to help.:)
 


Remove ads

Top