Metamagick'ed spell + metamagic rod?

Corsair

First Post
Simple question I think:

If I prepare an Empowered Fireball (5th level slot), is it still eligible for use with a Lesser Metamagic Rod? It still technically counts as a 3rd level spell correct? (in terms of saving throws, whether a globe of invulnerability stops it, whether a metamagic rod can be used on it, etc)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Corsair said:
Simple question I think:

If I prepare an Empowered Fireball (5th level slot), is it still eligible for use with a Lesser Metamagic Rod? It still technically counts as a 3rd level spell correct? (in terms of saving throws, whether a globe of invulnerability stops it, whether a metamagic rod can be used on it, etc)

It counts as a 5th level spell for whether it fits in a wand or potion, how much space it takes up in a Ring of Spell Storing, how much it costs to scribe as a scroll...

... pretty much anything having to do with items.

I would rule that no, a Lesser Rod won't affect it; you'd need a Rod or Greater Rod to handle the higher metamagicked level of the spell.

-Hyp.
 

/agrees with Hyp. Saving throws, it counts as a 3rd level spell. GoI and Metamagic Rods, 5th.
 

Jdvn1 said:
/agrees with Hyp. Saving throws, it counts as a 3rd level spell. GoI and Metamagic Rods, 5th.

I was under the impression that for a GoI, it still counted as 3rd (akin to how augmented psionics still counted as their original level also)
 


Thats what I thought. Basically my assumption for all of this is this line:

SRD: Empower Spell said:
An empowered spell uses up a spell slot two levels higher than the spell’s actual level.

It says it uses up a slot two levels higher, but never says it actually changes the level of the spell. So the question is do the rods care what slot you used to cast the spell?
 

Corsair said:
Thats what I thought. Basically my assumption for all of this is this line:



It says it uses up a slot two levels higher, but never says it actually changes the level of the spell. So the question is do the rods care what slot you used to cast the spell?

Yes. Answer is already provided above by Hypersmurf.
 


I have no problem with Hypersmurf's response, but as he said, it is really more of an opinion. I'm looking to see if anyone knows of anything in the rules which specifically states one way or the other. As it is, they are treated differently by different aspects of the rules, so I want to see if I can get a definite answer rather than conjecture.

( No offense to Hypersmurf of course, just looking for a rules-quote type answer)
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top