IanB said:The FAQ makes rulings. What is a ruling if not a rule?
"Do you have questions about the D&D game rules? Download the official FAQ that best suits your needs."
The FAQ provides official (their wording) answers to rules questions. That sounds like rulings to me.
KarinsDad said:It is when it adds brand new rules that are not in the book at all that some people have problems with it. Those are NOT "D&D game rules" because they are not in the rule books.
A new rule is something that does not exist at all within the rules. An example of this is the "bonus spells" rule for ability enhancement items that Storm Raven brought up. This is a new rule. Nowhere in the game rules does it state anything about getting bonus spells for an enhancement item. Not once. In fact, the spell that the item is derived from even states that you cannot get bonus spells from it. So, this is a new rule that is not part of the rule books.
If they want to add new rules, they should do it in the errata.
KarinsDad said:Note the phrase "questions about the D&D game rules".
As long as we are discussing clarifications, the FAQ is fine.
It is when it adds brand new rules that are not in the book at all that some people have problems with it. Those are NOT "D&D game rules" because they are not in the rule books.
A clarification is something where the rule exists, but it is open to interpretation or is difficult to find.
Do ability enhancing items (such as the headband of intellect, cloak of charisma, and periapt of wisdom) grant bonus spells to the appropriate spellcasters? The spells these items are based on would seem to prohibit it, but the only things specifically addressed in the item descriptions are skill points.
Yes, you can get extra bonus spells if you have an item that increases the ability score that governs your spellcasting. To get the extra bonus spells, you must wear the item while resting to regain spells and all through your initial daily preparations for spellcasting. (Even characters who don’t prepare spells need to meditate a little while at the beginning of the day; see Daily Readying of spells under the Sorcerers and bards section of Chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.) If you lose the item, you immediately lose the bonus spell slots the item gave you, starting with any uncast spells you have of the appropriate levels.
Parlan said:isn't that all this is doing, clarifying an otherwise unclear rule?
Not examples, specific exceptions.KarinsDad said:Precisely.
The only rules we have are discussed in the Headband of Intellect item and the various spells used to create ability score enhancement items (such as Owl's Wisdom).
So, we have a few examples where temporary spells and items do not qualify for permanent abilities (such as skill points or bonus spells), but we have zero examples in the opposite direction.
KarinsDad said:No.
Show me where in the books that rule resides.
Twowolves said:The Persistant Polymorph example is 100% applicable. If a character can maintain a gnome form by casting/recasting/extending an Alter Self/Polymorph/Polymorph Any Object, or with a similar magic item, then should he qualify for a Feat or PrC with "Race: Gnome" as a prerequisite? I don't think so.
You have put up your case, and I have not agreed. I don't find your quote to be all encompasing, and the FAQ is NOT errata, and has been shown to be in error before. Every example you pose is an example of an enhanced stat modifying rolls of some sort, and not a single one is an example of meeting a prerequisite for a feat nor a PrC. You seem to think this absence is evidence, whereas I think it's just an absence, a grey area in the rules.
If you're looking for a sentance that says, "Enhancement bonuses to ability scores allow you to qualify for feats", you won't find it, because this situation results from a combination of rules.KarinsDad said:Show me where in the books that rule resides.
Storm Raven said:No, it is completely inapplicable, because it does not provide enhancement bonuses. If it did, then it would be comparable, but it does not.
[/i]
Except, of course, for the explicit example of bonus spells being added to a character's repertoire as a result of the enhanced ability score. BUt that doesn't fit your argument, so you ignore that. And you ignore the flat statement that temporary bonuses are treated the same as permanent bonuses except otherwise stated.
Explain how the FAQ is in error in this case. It may be in error in some other areas, but that is neither here nor there with respect to this question. If it is a grey area in the rules, this is the exact sort of thing that the FAQ is intended to cover - and a clarification has been provided concerning how the rules are intended to work.