Patryn of Elvenshae
First Post
Thanks for answering! 
I'll answer slightly out of order.
Egads! I disagree with the FAQ! Say it ain't so! 
I could see that being a reasonable way to rule it.
Ok - he doesn't get the new slot until he rests.
Let's say, instead, a sorceror owns a +2 Charisma headband, which qualifies him for an additional 3rd-level slot.
He goes to town, and this time finds a seller of Headbands of Intellectual Awesomeness (+2 Charisma, +2 Intelligence, +2 Wisdom). In the shop, takes off his old headband, and over the course of the next 20 seconds or so holds up the three different HoIA models to see how they look in the mirror. He picks the blue one, puts it on, pays for his purchase, and leaves the store.
Can he still cast one extra fireball today?
Not necessarily an event - it certainly isn't called out specifically - but the rules here are open-ended. They reference any number of possible instances that could cause a spellcaster to lose a prepared spell (like, say, a spellthief's attack).
In regards to Resurrection, there's also the following in Raise Dead: "A character who died with spells prepared has a 50% chance of losing any given spell upon being raised, in addition to losing spells for losing a level."
Clearly, this is not called out specifically in that section of rules. It is, however, a case of specifically calling out such a situation, which would lend credence to your side.
However, we still go back to the initial issue that started all of this. When you ask what someone's Intelligence (or Strength, etc.) score is, there is *one* answer. The answer is not "It's 17, but really 15." A person with a 15 Intelligence does not gain any 3rd-level bonus spells. If you're Intelligence is 15, you don't have any 3rd-level bonus spells.

I'll answer slightly out of order.
KarinsDad said:Which is the exact opposite of what the FAQ states.


But what rules tell you that the spell slots no longer exist?
Similar to spells within an Antimagic Field, they may merely be surpressed.
I could see that being a reasonable way to rule it.
This is a new spell slot. One the Sorcerer never had before and one for which he has never rested.
Ok - he doesn't get the new slot until he rests.
Let's say, instead, a sorceror owns a +2 Charisma headband, which qualifies him for an additional 3rd-level slot.
He goes to town, and this time finds a seller of Headbands of Intellectual Awesomeness (+2 Charisma, +2 Intelligence, +2 Wisdom). In the shop, takes off his old headband, and over the course of the next 20 seconds or so holds up the three different HoIA models to see how they look in the mirror. He picks the blue one, puts it on, pays for his purchase, and leaves the store.
Can he still cast one extra fireball today?
which indicates that the spell stays until the Wizard casts it or until a wipe spell event that is clearly called out in the rules happens. Losing your magic item or having it temporarily dispelled is not necessarily such an event.
Not necessarily an event - it certainly isn't called out specifically - but the rules here are open-ended. They reference any number of possible instances that could cause a spellcaster to lose a prepared spell (like, say, a spellthief's attack).
In regards to Resurrection, there's also the following in Raise Dead: "A character who died with spells prepared has a 50% chance of losing any given spell upon being raised, in addition to losing spells for losing a level."
Clearly, this is not called out specifically in that section of rules. It is, however, a case of specifically calling out such a situation, which would lend credence to your side.
However, we still go back to the initial issue that started all of this. When you ask what someone's Intelligence (or Strength, etc.) score is, there is *one* answer. The answer is not "It's 17, but really 15." A person with a 15 Intelligence does not gain any 3rd-level bonus spells. If you're Intelligence is 15, you don't have any 3rd-level bonus spells.