• Welcome to this new upgrade of the site. We are now on a totally different software platform. Many things will be different, and bugs are expected. Certain areas (like downloads and reviews) will take longer to import. As always, please use the Meta Forum for site queries or bug reports. Note that we (the mods and admins) are also learning the new software.

State of the mystic

In one of the threads about the latest version of the artificer, I complained about the lack of a newer iteration of the psionic class. After taking some time to read the 2017 version again, though, it feels right to me; not perfect, but right. I like the mechanics and I believe they are distinct enough from spellcasting to make me consider it a worthy attempt. I'm no expert on balance, though, and we have not put it to test in our game. So, I'm wondering what's the opinion of people who have actually playtested it, or at least checked the math behind the class. If the Sunday announcement happens to be a Dark Sun campaign guide including a finished version of the mystic, would that make you happy? If no, is there any specific reason why?

Inchoroi

Explorer
My biggest quibble for all the versions of the mystic, save perhaps the first one, are that they are far too broad thematically. If a mystic can take the role of a ranger, fighter, monk, and wizard, its way too good. I've yet to see any homebrew that addresses all the issues that it has, unfortunately. I keep meaning to write my own, but I simply don't have the time...

The Mystic UA a while back was a good start, but it was something that needed to be nerfed, badly.

Specifically, it needed to be for focused in it's design, and not be as jack-of-all-trades as it was. The main reason why I consider the Lore Bard to be probably the best single class in the game is because of how general it is with Additional Magical Secrets and the extra skills, in addition to everything already Jack-Of-All-Trades-y that the Bard normally is.