Monk with spiked chain?

random user

First Post
If we have a level 1 fighter / level n monk. He takes exotic weapon spiked chain as a fighter, then progresses in monk.

Now, it says for monk's unarmed strike:

A monk’s attacks may be with either fist interchangeably or even from elbows, knees, and feet. This means that a monk may even make unarmed strikes with her hands full.

So, is this legal:

Monk carries a spiked chain but attacks using unarmed strike, with the spiked chain in his hands, lets say using spring attack.

After he attacks he moves away. Now the spiked chain has a reach of 5 and 10'. Would the monk be able to get an opportunity of attack with the spiked chain if someone moves through his threat range?

I wasn't able to find anything that suggests that this would not be a legal combo. Anyone able to poke any holes in it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yeah. You don't need a spiked chain, a Ftr1/monk can do all mentioned above with a glaive for more damage and less feats. :D
 

Which is exactly what my new 1st level Monk will aspire to (he spent his human feat on martial weapon(glaive)). Get an AoO on them as they charge in to you with the glaive, then fight them with unarmed kicks when they are up close.
 

You can do it, but keep in mind that if you want to threaten with both the unarmed attacks and the weapon (whatever it is) you have to take the dual-wielding penalties.

If you don't take the penalties, you are just 'holding' one and 'wielding' the other. (it's odd to say you are 'holding' your unarmed attack, so think of it as a dagger and a longsword to make it clearer).

-Tatsu
 


Tatsukun said:
You can do it, but keep in mind that if you want to threaten with both the unarmed attacks and the weapon (whatever it is) you have to take the dual-wielding penalties.

If you don't take the penalties, you are just 'holding' one and 'wielding' the other. (it's odd to say you are 'holding' your unarmed attack, so think of it as a dagger and a longsword to make it clearer).

-Tatsu
This is not specifically spelled out in the rules. It's an item of hot debate, actually, and one that isn't going to get resolved unless errata is issued (has errata been issued?).

Personally, I'd say that as long as you're not getting extra attacks during a full attack with a second weapon, you don't get the -2 to hit, and can use it for attacks of opportunity.

-The Souljourner
 

Actually it is spelled it in official/semi-official sources (faq)

first, as I perceive the question (and feel free to correct me if I perceive it incorrectly :) ) --

Two situations:
First: Armed with Glaive, Monk uses spring attack to attack unarmed with feet vs opponent (single attack) and moves away. When opponent leaves square at 10', incurs AoO w/ Glaive. When opponent stands 5' away and casts spell, incurs 2nd AoO w/ unarmed strike.

Both fine, all 3 occurring at full bab (per AoO). Shouldn't be any real rules question there, except perhaps the unarmed attack while holding a glaive. Provided you are not attacking with the 'other' weapon, i.e. 2WF style, you do NOT incur the penalties for just holding it.

Second: Armed w/ Spk Chain, monk uses spring attack to attack unarmed with feet vs opponent and moves away. When opponent leaves square at 10', incurs AoO. Choice 1 - Attack - use full bab on spk chain, opponent advances to 5', Choice 2 - Trip - use full bab in melee touch attack, if succeed + possess imp trip - make normal melee attack at full bab. If opponent advances to 5 feet and starts casting spell, either a) attack with chain (attack or trip) or attack unarmed (w/ feet).

Again, little rules questioning there save for the 2wf if not 2wf equaling no penalty.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top