5E (OOC) Rise of the Dracolich (Full)

Prickly Pear

Explorer
Yikes. Dragons really are pretty dangerous with their breath weapon, aren't they? I hope some of you make that save., or this could go pretty badly. Sorry about the Kobolds, Prickly! I think they're all gone no matter what!
DC19 Con save, eh? Sesto will be a goner unless he makes the save.
Is the dragons breath a spell or a magical effect? If so, Sesto's Spellguard Shield might help him... I will roll for Sesto's save and post it.
While holding this shield, you have advantage on saving throws against spells and other magical effects, and spell attacks have disadvantage against you.

I think Loklafd might be a goner, poor fellow. I really like that guy. Maybe we can save him? This might be a good time to do a Healing Potion Audit. Anyone know what we've got?
Sesto has 3 healing potions left and he can also cast Revivify, if he survives the battle.

Regarding Loklafd, instant death according to PHB (p197) is "A character is instantly killed when that character is reduced to 0 hit points and the remaining damage equals or exceeds that character's hit point maximum". Loklafd has 58 hit point max but has "only" received 21+64=85 HP damage, which is less than what would be needed to kill him instantaneously. Good news!

OOC: I got tired of waiting... Lorenn, Kalorn, and Primus still have to take turns.
You're itching to kill us all... can't wait, right!!! :ROFLMAO:
 

tglassy

Adventurer
Primus has had a good run. I hope he lives, his family would hate it if he never came home, but I don't mind creating a new character. At least, until the Psion is officially released and we get something a little more balanced.

But until then, it's Nova time!
 

Ancalagon

Dusty Dragon
Kalorn feels pretty darn useless at this moment, it's not his type of battle at all at the moment - at least he has some range potential.

No resist energy for Sesto? :(
 

FitzTheRuke

Adventurer
Hey, it occurred to me while I was thinking about resolving the round (still need Lorenn, though) that Kalorn was looking through Sooty's 'eyes' (echolocation) when we'd left him last. I'm not great with the rules on familiars, but I think that means he would not have had the disadvantage from the dragon being unseen. It's nearly right below Sooty. So that first EB would be a Crit, and the second a hit. Am I right?

Edit: No, the first rolls would be the ones that count... so no. Oh well.
 

tglassy

Adventurer
Not necessarily. The Help Action is just helping. Only for a Rogue does it need an ally within 5 ft of the enemy. Help is just Helping. You could say the Familiar Helped by giving him the exact location, using its eco location.

Just a thought. I’m not the DM.
 

FitzTheRuke

Adventurer
Ah, now I know why some of you with familiars play so fast-and-loose with the Help action.

Not by the rules, I'm afraid:

HELP: "You can lend your aid to another creature in the completion of a task. When you take the Help action, the creature you aid gains advantage on the next ability check it makes to perform the task you are helping with, provided that it makes the check before the start of your next turn.

Alternatively, you can aid a friendly creature in attacking a creature within 5 feet of you. You feint, distract the target, or in some other way team up to make your ally's attack more effective. If your ally attacks the target before your next turn, the first attack roll is made with advantage."

I've often let it go, because I'm not much of a rules lawyer, but you need to be adjacent to help in attacking.
 

tglassy

Adventurer
I stand corrected. The only one I’ve done with this is with Titus and Morwin, and I do typically have him near the enemy, but I wasn’t aware of the distance requirement.
 

Ancalagon

Dusty Dragon
Hey, it occurred to me while I was thinking about resolving the round (still need Lorenn, though) that Kalorn was looking through Sooty's 'eyes' (echolocation) when we'd left him last. I'm not great with the rules on familiars, but I think that means he would not have had the disadvantage from the dragon being unseen. It's nearly right below Sooty. So that first EB would be a Crit, and the second a hit. Am I right?

Edit: No, the first rolls would be the ones that count... so no. Oh well.
Technically the first rolls are 19 and 20 :p But thanks!
 

FitzTheRuke

Adventurer
Just waiting on Fradak, though Charwoman Gene has two saving throws to roll, too. I'm Itching to finish the round. (Apparently @mentions don't actually "call" the person anymore. They just post a link to their profile for the rest of us. Silly.)
 

Advertisement

Top