Kulan: Knightfall's Heroes of Carnell Game [OOC]

Round 12
Xander - Initiative: 1D20+1 = [1]+1 = 2
Xander - Move Silently and Hide (while Invisible):
1D20+11-5 = [18]+11-5 = 24
(Move Silently)
1D20+7+20-5 = [1]+7+20-5 = 23 -10 = 13 (Hide)
CRAP!!!! :mad:

Note to Self: Did the rolls for Spot wrong. There is no modifier for the sounds of combat. But, I forgot to include distance and that both are distracted (-5). Timmins also has a -4 circumstance penalty due to the door being in the way. Redoing the rolls...

Timmins - Listen (at -15) and Spot (at -11): 1D20-6 = [15]-6 = 9 -5 = 4 (failed)
1D20-7 = [1]-7 = -6 (failed)
Angus - Listen (at -10) and Spot (at -7): 1D20-2 = [1]-2 = -1 (failed)
1D20+5 = [9]+5 = 14 (partial success, Xander still has total concealment)
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

@JustinCase, Caerth needs to move a minimum of 10 feet to be able to see the bard in order to cast hold person on her. He would have to move through a threatened square, and take an AoO, since one of the other cultists was only 10 feet away in the interaction of the western and southern corridors.

You could have Caerth cast hold person on that cultist first and then move into the intersection of the two corridors, but the bard would be able to flee out of Caerth's sight by the time he gets a chance to use the Kang's hold person power again.

With use of the deathwatch power, Caerth knows that the cultist in the intersection is "fighting off death," as per the per the spell's description. Hirasean is also "fighting off death." (Whoops! I forgot an extra protection that Hirasean has that I didn't apply to the bear attacks from last round, so he has more hp left than I thought he did.)

Anyway, I'm going to assume the Caerth is going to move and use Kang as you wrote in your post.

Cultist - AoO: 1D20+5 = [2]+5 = 7
1D8+2 = [8]+2 = 10
(miss)
So, no worries. ;)

Lady Panthera - Will saving throw (DC 12): 1D20+12 = [2]+12 = 14 (saves... barely)
 
Last edited:

@JustinCase, also this...

Rules of the Game: All About Grappling (Part Four) said:
Monsters and Grappling
In general, monsters follow the same rules as PCs when conducting a grapple.

Monsters in a grapple may use their natural weapons, but only by using the “Attack Your Opponent” option (which applies a -4 penalty on the attack roll). When using the “Damage Your Opponent” option, the creature deals unarmed strike damage appropriate to its size (see Part 2 of this column).

Some options available while grappling (such as “Damage Your Opponent” and “Pin Your Opponent”) state that they may be used in place of an attack. The monster gets as many “attacks” in a full attack action as it would get if it were attacking with a weapon, based on its base attack bonus: +1 to +5, one attack; +6 to +10, two attacks; +11 to +15, three attacks, and +16 and up, four attacks. Each one after the first would suffer a cumulative –5 penalty on the roll (just like a character with a high BAB making multiple weapon attacks).​

For example, a dire tiger (BAB +12) grappling a PC would be allowed three separate attempts to damage its opponent, escape from the grapple, or pin its opponent; the second would take a –5 penalty on the grapple check, while the third would take a –10 penalty.

Improved Grab: The improved grab special attack allows a monster to make a grab attack as part of a regular melee attack with a particular natural weapon (usually a bite or claw). If the attack hits, the natural weapon deals damage normally, and the monster immediately makes an opposed check to establish a hold. The attack doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity. Since the attack already dealt damage when it hit, a successful hold deals no extra damage. Each successful grapple check the attacker makes during successive rounds automatically deals the damage indicated for the attack that established the hold. (This works just like making a grapple check to deal damage.)

A creature with the improved grab special attack has the option to conduct the grapple normally, or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a -20 penalty on grapple checks, but it is not considered grappled itself; the creature does not lose its Dexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents. This is handy for really big monsters, such as giant squids and krakens.

When a creature gets a hold after an improved grab attack, it pulls the opponent into its space (rather than entering the foe's space). According to page 310 in the Monster Manual, the grabbed creature's involuntary movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity. A creature with the improved grab special attack and reach drags a grabbed foe a considerable distance.

A creature with the improved grab special attack can move without making an opposed grapple check, provided it can drag the opponent's weight. The creature's movement and the involuntary movement by anyone it drags along provokes attacks of opportunity normally.

Constrict: Creatures with the constrict special attack deal extra damage when grappling. Most creatures with this attack usually also have the improved grab special attack. A creature deals extra constriction damage when it first grabs a foe and establishes a hold. If the creature later makes a grapple check to deal damage to a creature in its grasp, it deals damage from the natural weapon it uses in the attack (if any) and extra constriction damage as well.
 

@JustinCase, Caerth needs to move a minimum of 10 feet to be able to see the bard in order to cast hold person on her. He would have to move through a threatened square, and take an AoO, since one of the other cultists was only 10 feet away in the interaction of the western and southern corridors.

(...)

Anyway, I'm going to assume the Caerth is going to move and use Kang as you wrote in your post.
Thanks, yes that is what I wanted.

Too bad she made her save though. [emoji1]
 


Round 13 (Updated)
Black Bears (summoned): 21 (grappling)
Black Bears (summoned): 21 (full attack; hits twice)
Caerth: 21 (tries to use Kang's power to hold the bard; she saves)
Cultist #1: 19 (fleeing)
Brutus: 13 (continues to go get his axe)
Cultist: 13 (flubbed casting, dropped holy symbol)
Cultists [x2] (fighting Angus): 13 (failed to cast spells)
Aureus: 11 (retrieves bow, shoots once, and hits)
Timmins: 10 (full attack; hits once)
Hirasean: 9 (grappling)
Lady Panthera (Bard): 9 (will continue to flee)
Meridith: 8
Wieland: 7 (holds action until Meridith is no longer stunned)
Angus: 6
Phar: 5

Cultists (using heavy maces) [x2]: 5
Cultist (veil of shadows): 5
(killed by bear)
Maur: 4
Quinn: 4

Cultists #11: 4 (killed by Phar)
Invisible Foe: 2 (new combatant) ⬅️
 
Last edited:

Okay, so Angus has yelled out a warning that he sees "something that is not quite there." All the other PCs must make both a Listen check to hear Angus's warning and a Wisdom check (DC 15) to understand the 'gist' what the centaur is saying in the language he's speaking.

I'm going to assume the allied NPCs have no clue what he is yelling out (unless a roll is a Natural 20), except for Aureus. She's a multiclassed rogue/divine bard now, so I'm going to let her use her Bardic Knowledge in place of the Wisdom check.

Would stunned allies hear such a warning? :unsure:

I'm going to say that everyone is distracted (+5 to DC), and that Meridith and Phar have a -2 circumstance penalty to hear Angus's warning due to still being stunned when he shouts out his warning. That penalty will also apply to Phar's Wisdom check. He understand Centaur but not Angus's other native language.)

Brutus is too far away to hear the warning.

All the Listen checks are made at -10 due to the sounds of battle. That doesn't apply to the wisdom checks, however.

Anyway, the Listen check for Maur and Quinn is at DC 12. The check is at DC 13 for Caerth. The check is at DC 5 for Phar with a -2 to the roll for being stunned. The check is at DC 9 for Aureus.

DCs for the NPC Allies
Brutus: n/a
Meridith: 11 (-12 to roll)
Timmins: 8 (-10 to roll)
Wieland: 10 (-10 to roll)

Rolls
Aureus - Listen check (DC 9) and Bardic Knowledge check (DC 15): 1D20+11 = [18]+11 = 29 -10 = 19 (success)
1D20+7 = [7]+7 = 14 (close to understanding but not quite)
Meridith - Listen check (DC 11): 1D20+9-2 = [17]+9-2 = 24 -10 = 14 (success)
Timmins - Listen check (DC 8): 1D20+4-10 = [8]+4-10 = 2 (failed)
Wieland - Listen check (DC 10): 1D20+5-10 = [12]+5-10 = 7 (failed)
 
Last edited:




Remove ads

Top