log in or register to remove this ad

 

(OOC) Scourge of Daggerford (Full)


log in or register to remove this ad




KahlessNestor

Adventurer
I will be heading out on vacation this afternoon and will be returning June 14. I won't have access to a computer other than my phone, and I hate mobile posting, so I will give permission for the DM to jaeger Angis if necessary. His plan is to get everyone to pull back to the large chamber again so they aren't all separated and fighting one on one against these things.
 


Prickly Pear

Explorer
@Prickly Pear I didn't think so, but I couldn't remember if Lionel could help as a bonus action. You put that you were helping under a bonus action header, so I took your word for it. ORB5 can do it, so it will negate Tommi's disadvantage. Go get 'im @Kobold Stew !
Ahh, I see. No, I meant that Lionel was staying so that he could share the damage with Tommi and thereby 'helping' him to survive. I had a '—' in there to indicate that Lionel did not use his bonus action. Sorry about that.
 

Prickly Pear

Explorer
Moved OOC post to this thread:
OOC:
Sorry to be a party pooper but you can't take a reaction when you are surprised. That's the point of being surprised.
From the Player's Handbook p 189:
If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first turn of the combat, and you can't take a reaction until that turn ends. A member of a group can be surprised even if the other members aren't.

Also, you will need to be able to see the attacker, and these shadows are invisible.
From the Player's Handbook p 97:
UNCANNY DODGE
Starting at 5th level, when an attacker that you can see hits you with an attack, you can use your reaction to halve the attack's damage against you.

But, of course, this is up to the DM.
 



FitzTheRuke

Legend
Didn't the shadow die on the first hit? If so, didn't both die rolls hit? No need to add more die rolls to dead enemy.
I'm not sure what you mean. If you rolled with disadvantage both rolls might have missed. I'm not particularly worried about it, but it's not the first time I've seen Escella fire EB in melee, which I find strange to imagine. (I think I just let you get away with it last time - I don't like to argue with players when they're having fun!)
 





KahlessNestor

Adventurer
Moved OOC post to this thread:
OOC:
Sorry to be a party pooper but you can't take a reaction when you are surprised. That's the point of being surprised.
From the Player's Handbook p 189:


Also, you will need to be able to see the attacker, and these shadows are invisible.
From the Player's Handbook p 97:


But, of course, this is up to the DM.
Technically, you can take a reaction AFTER your turn has passed in initiative. So you can be surprised on your turn, and THEN you have your reaction available.
 

Prickly Pear

Explorer
Correct, but Tommi's turn hadn't even started. It was the Shadow's turn. On the other hand, turn sequence in PbP is a bit weird, and FitzTheRuke does it differently yet again. :)
 


FitzTheRuke

Legend
Correct, but Tommi's turn hadn't even started. It was the Shadow's turn. On the other hand, turn sequence in PbP is a bit weird, and FitzTheRuke does it differently yet again. :)
That's a good point. I rarely run into any rules problems here in PBP when I just don't bother with initiative (I've tried it IRL games too, and it works fine just letting whoever is ready and wants to take their turn go - it actually speeds the game up most of the time, but I dropped it and went back to "normal" initiative just to go with expectations).

Still, corner-cases happen. This is one. I'm inclined to just let players use their reactions even if they're surprised. It would be the same as if Tommi went on 17, was suprised and didn't act, and then the Shadow went on 15 and grabbed him. It would probably turn out that way if we rolled-off on initiative anyway.

Right. Lionel avoids half the damage. (5).
 


An Advertisement

Advertisement4

Top